McKenna Cup semi-final: Donegal 0-20 1-10 Armagh

Donegal's Eoghan Ban Gallagher gives Oisin Maclomhair a tug during the semi-final
Donegal's Eoghan Ban Gallagher gives Oisin Maclomhair a tug during the semi-final

Donegal set up a meeting with holders Tyrone in the McKenna Cup final thanks to this comfortable win over Armagh at Celtic Park on Saturday night.

Armagh teenager Eamon McGeown netted the only goal to help his side go in level at 1-6 to 0-9 at half-time.

Donegal dominated the second half and hit seven points without reply while the Orchard team went 27 minutes without registering a score.

Paddy McBrearty shone for Donegal with the forward firing over eight points.

The semi-final was switched to Celtic Park after both MacCumhaill Park and Athletic Grounds pitches were deemed unplayable on Saturday morning.

McGeown added two first-half points to his 14th minute goal, which put Armagh 1-3 to 0-2 in front.

McBrearty ensured a strong Donegal line-up kept in touch with the Kilcar forward scoring six points before the break.

It was a one-side second half as Donegal surged clear and substitutes Niall O'Donnell and Stephen McBrearty each slotted over three points from play.

Tyrone will be aiming for a seventh McKenna Cup triumph in a row when they take on Donegal in the decider, which is scheduled to take place on the weekend of 17/18 February.

Donegal: MA McGinley; P Brennan, S McMenamin, C Ward; E Doherty, L McLoone, T McClenaghan; J McGee, N Mullins (0-2); EB Gallagher, C Thompson (0-1), C McGonigle; P McBrearty (0-8, 3f), M O'Reilly, D O'Connor (0-3, 1f)

Subs: N O'Donnell (0-3) for McClenaghan (33), C McGinley for McMenamin (HT), S McBrearty (0-3) for Thompson (41), K McBrearty for McGee (56), B McCole for P McBrearty (68)

Armagh: P Morrison; J McAlinden, O Lappin, J Cosgrove; J McElroy, R Kennedy, D McKenna; A Findon, S Sheridan (0-1); R Lappin, A Duffy, C White (0-1); M Stevenson (0-3, one '45'), E McGeown (1-3, 1f), O MacIomhair (0-1)

Subs: R McQuillan for O Lappin (HT), R Owens for Sheridan (HT), C McGeary for McKenna (52), E English (0-1) for White (52), D McQuade for R Lappin (56)

Referee: Niall McKenna (Monaghan)

Bank of Ireland McKenna Cup final - 17/18 February
TyronevDonegal (venue, tbc)

Top Stories