Hurling League: Saffrons edged out by last-gasp Dublin

Dublin's Danny Sutcliffe is put under pressure by Neil McManus in the Corrigan Park encounter
Dublin's Danny Sutcliffe is put under pressure by Neil McManus in the Corrigan Park encounter

Donal Burke fired over a winning point deep into added time as Antrim were beaten 0-23 to 0-22 by Dublin in Hurling League Division 1B.

The Saffrons had fought back late in the game and Neil McManus scored a dramatic leveller at Corrigan Park.

But there was still time for Burke to win with the last action of the game.

Dublin enjoyed a 0-14 to 0-8 half-time advantage but they were pushed all the way by Antrim, who have lost their opening two league matches.

Antrim hoped to build on their impressive display against All-Ireland champions Galway last weekend.

That ended in a three-point defeat and the Ulster side came out on the wrong end of a close encounter again on Sunday.

Accurate finishing from McManus helped Antrim into a 0-8 to 0-7 lead but the Dubs rattled off the seven points on the bounce go in at the break with a healthy lead.

Points from Aaron Graffin, McManus and Gerard Walsh cut the gap but Dublin pulled clear again before Antrim's late surge.

It looked like a valuable point was secured when the McManus equalised with his 16th point, only for Burke to deliver a crushing blow to the Belfast hosts.

Antrim lie second bottom in the standings and above Laois on scoring difference.


Division One A
Tipperary1-20Waterford 1-11Semple Stadium
Division One B
Laois0-17Galway 2-18Portlaoise
Division One Two A
London1-14Meath 1-24Ruislip
Division Three A
Warwickshire1-14Longford 0-11Pairc na hEireann


Division One A
Kilkenny1-18Clare 2-18Nowlan Park
Wexford0-21Cork 1-14Wexford Park
Division One B
Antrim0-22Dublin 0-23Corrigan Park
Offaly0-10Limerick 1-24Tullamore Park
Division Two A
Kerry 1-11Carlow 1-18Tralee
Westmeath1-20Kildare 2-11Mullingar
Division Two B
Donegal4-17Derry 2-9Letterkenny
Armagh2-13Mayo 3-15Athletic Grounds
Down1-24Wicklow 0-16Ballycran
Division Three A
Louth4-12Tyrone 0-20Darver
Monaghan0-16Roscommon 1-13Inniskeen
Division Three B
Leitrim0-14Lancashire 0-15Ballinamore
Cavan0-4Sligo 2-19Kingspan Breffni

Top Stories