Darren Clarke wins Iberdrola Open to end Tour famine

Darren Clarke with the Iberdrola Open trophy
Darren Clarke clinched his 13th Tour success by winning in Mallorca

Darren Clarke won his first European Tour title since August 2008 with a three-shot victory over Chris Wood and David Lynn in the Iberdrola Open.

The Northern Ireland player had trailed Englishman Wood by four shots going into Sunday's final round but a closing 69 gave him the title on six under par.

Wood had seemed destined for his maiden Tour win but stumbled to a 76 to tie with countryman Lynn (70) in Mallorca.

Alastair Forsyth from Scotland carded a 70 to finish fourth on two under par.

Wood, 23, produced a round to forget as he appeared to wilt under the pressure of expectation.

Though he just about held himself together on the front nine, he then squandered five shots between the 12th and 17th and even though he almost aced the closing par three the damage had been done.

It was 42-year-old Clarke's 13th win on the European Tour, his most recent having come in the 2008 KLM Open.

"It feels pretty good. I got so down after my weekend in Morocco where I played poorly," said Clarke.

"I went on holiday with the kids and then worked on a few things. I feel for Woody, he was trying to win his first tournament. Things went for me."

Clarke had reached the turn on six under, one under for his round, after a birdie at the third in a flawless front nine.

However, the 2010 Ryder Cup vice-captain went into the water to drop two shots at the par-four 11th.

He retrieved those with back-to-back birdies after a long putt on the 14th and a great approach at the next.

And a fine par-saving putt from off the green at the 17th effectively sealed Clarke's long-awaited victory.