Paul Cutler misses cut on professional debut in Austria

Paul Cutler was the top Northern Ireland player and leadng amateur at the 2011 Irish Open
Cutler was the top Northern Ireland player and leading amateur at the 2011 Irish Open

Paul Cutler has missed the cut on his professional debut at the Austrian Open in Atzenbrugg.

The Portstewart man carded a two-over 74 on Friday to finish on seven over and four shots outside the cut.

Clandeboye's Jonathan Caldwell and Michael McGeady also missed the cut after suffering poor finishes.

Caldwell dropped three shots in his final two holes to miss out by two while Derryman McGeady exited by one shot after two late double bogeys.

2007 Walker Cup player Caldwell appeared set to make the cut after eagling the 13th which left him on one under.

But he immediately double bogeyed the 14th and a birdie at the 15th was followed another double bogey on 17 and further dropped shot at the last as he signed for a 74.

McGeady appeared safe as he stood on the 15th tees on level par after playing his opening 14 holes in an impressive three under par.

However, the North West player suffered successive double bogeys on 15 and 16 and two closing pars saw him missing out by a heartbreaking shot on a rare European Tour start for him.

Damien McGrane also exited after hitting a 77 for seven over.

Gary Murphy (68) is the best of the Irish on four under while Padraig Harrington survived on one over a topsy turvy 70 which included six birdies and four bogeys.

Murphy is three behind the leading quarter of Robert Coles, Joost Juiten, Thomas Norret and Gaganjeet Bhullar.

Cutler played an important role in Europe's recent Walker Cup victory over the USA at Royal Aberdeen.

The 22-year-old will also play in the Dunhill Links Championship as he attempts to secure his Tour card.

His manager Conor Ridge is hoping to secure additional invitations to the Portugal Masters, Andalucia Valderrama Masters and Barclays Singapore Open.

Cutler, the leading amateur at the Irish Open last month, is a former winner of the Lytham Trophy and the West of Ireland Amateur.