Tiger Woods confirmed as Presidents Cup captain's pick

Fred Couples and Tiger Woods
US captain Couples (left) has put his faith in Woods

Tiger Woods has been confirmed as one of the United States' two captain's picks for the Presidents Cup.

Woods and Bill Haas will complete US skipper Fred Couples's team.

Meanwhile, International team captain Greg Norman has selected two fellow Australians - Robert Allenby and Aaron Baddeley - with his two choices.

The ninth Presidents Cup - where the US meet a non-European International side in a Ryder Cup-style format - takes place in Melbourne in November.

Haas is fresh from his weekend victory at the Tour Championship, which also earned him the $10m FedEx Cup title.

Earlier this month, US player David Toms and Australia's Geoff Ogilvy made sure of the 10th and final automatic places in their respective teams.

Reflecting on his two picks, Norman said: "Knowing we were playing in the backyard of Australia, I wanted to load up the team with as many Aussies as I possibly could."

Couples had announced in August that former world number one Woods, now ranked 50th in the world, would be one of his two picks, despite not having won a tournament since November 2009.

"The majority of the people I talk to liked the pick and a handful don't," Couples said at the time, ahead of the four-day event at the Royal Melbourne Golf Club, which runs from 17-20 November.external-link

"Tiger was in the heat of battle in Augusta [and] almost won there.

"He has done everything I asked him to do and so I told him the reason I picked him early was there was some things I needed him to do.

"I talk to Tiger a lot and I know he is working hard I am counting on him to play well in Australia.

"We win by several guys playing well. We don't need everyone playing incredible golf."

United States team (captained by Fred Couples): Matt Kuchar, Steve Stricker, Dustin Johnson, Webb Simpson, Nick Watney, Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson, David Toms, Hunter Mahan, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Bill Haas.

International team (captained by Greg Norman): Jason Day, Adam Scott, Geoff Ogilvy, Robert Allenby, Aaron Baddeley (Australia); Charl Schwartzel, Retief Goosen, Ernie Els (South Africa); KJ Choi, Kim Kyung-tae, YE Yang (South Korea); Ryo Ishikawa (Japan).