Tiger Woods loses but United States lead Presidents Cup

Tiger Woods
Woods has so far failed to score a point for the United States

Tiger Woods lost his second match but the US lead the International team 7-5 after day two of the Presidents Cup.

Woods and Dustin Johnson lost by one hole to Australians Aaron Baddeley and Jason Day in Friday's fourballs in windy conditions at Royal Melbourne.

Phil Mickelson and Jim Furyk also beat Adam Scott and Kyung-tae Kim 2&1 as the two sides shared the fourballs 3-3.

"It was a tough day," said Woods. "Just trying to hit the greens was a heck of an accomplishment."

Former world number one Woods is the only American yet to make a contribution towards his team's bid for a fourth successive win - and this is the first time he has lost his first two games in matchplay format since the 2004 Ryder Cup in Detroit.

Greg Norman's International team, 4-2 down after the first-day foursomes, had hoped to use the tough conditions to their advantage. Instead, both sides struggled on a day that American Mickelson called "crazy".

The International pairing of Geoff Ogilvy and KJ Choi beat Bill Haas and Nick Watney on the 18th hole.

Americans Matt Kuchar and Steve Stricker eased to a 4&3 victory over Robert Allenby and YE Yang, while Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson beat Ernie Els and Ryo Ishikawa 3&1.

It was the second consecutive win for both US duos this week.

South Africans Retief Goosen and Charl Schwartzel ensured the day ended 3-3 when they finished off David Toms and Hunter Mahan 2&1 in the final match.

Woods will face Scott - and his former caddie Steve Williams - again on day three when he pairs up with Johnson to face Scott and Choi.

On the third day of the competition there are five foursomes in the morning before five fourballs in the afternoon.

Pairings for the foursomes matches on day three at the Presidents Cup:

Robert Allenby and Geoff Ogilvy (Int) v Webb Simpson and Bubba Watson (US)

Bill Haas and Matt Kuchar (US) v Ernie Els and Ryo Ishikawa (Int)

Retief Goosen and Charl Schwartzel (Int) v Hunter Mahan and David Toms (US)

Tiger Woods and Dustin Johnson (US) v Adam Scott and KJ Choi (Int)

Aaron Baddeley and Jason Day (Int) v Jim Furyk and Phil Mickelson (US)