This entry is now closed for comments.
@267 - The BBC don't 'censor' any comments. Comments are only removed if another user reports your comment.
I think the most stupid comment was "took the fewest number of strokes, yet lost by a shot". I would have won a few competitions if I had not had penalty shots applied..e.g. ball, out of bound, lost ball etc. Rory lost because he was penalised for a rule infringement...fact!!!
I think this article is whiny and clearly biased in favour of a British golfer.ANY decent golfer knows the rule of taking complete relief when taking a drop. Rory and his caddy are to blame. The other caddy could have been more sporting and warned him before he played. Its a stupid mistake but luckily it wasn't a Major for Rory and he can learn to be more careful.
Just to let people know, that I have had my last two "posts" excluded, because I have criticised Mr Carter.Incredible censorship by the BBC, who clearly are only interested in protecting there own.I doubt if this one will see the light of day, unless I say that Mr Carter is the best golf correspondent, and right in all matters, associated with the rules of golf. Aye right.
Alan, I agree absolutely. Taking relief from an obstruction is one of golf's most common rule related events. It is incredible that Rory did not deal with this correctly.
@263 I would excuse some golfers - some aren't the sharpest tools...... But journalists should clearly know better :)
smiler where was jp when rm was doing this exactly 5 yards away so why should dave renwick open his mouth again if not for dr rm would have been disqualified altogether so well done dr and jp more needed
What is most amazing is the lack of understanding of the basic rules by professional golfers and golf journalists
@243 Golden Bear, which tour do you play then?
Iain has got the rule wrong in his article. The ball is not dropped "one club length from the crossing at the nearest point of relief", but ONE CLUB LENGTH FROM THE NEAREST POINT OF RELIEF. Once Rory had determined the nearest point of relief and added a club length (with his driver) he should have been well away from the crossing.
We're having some problems displaying the comments at the moment. Sorry. We're doing our best to fix it.
You must sign in to rate comments