WGC Match Play: New format, venue and date for tournament

Jason Day
The WGC World Match Play, won by Jason Day in 2014, will adopt a group format from 2015

The WGC World Match Play event will be played under a new format at Harding Park in San Francisco next year.

The 64-man field will be divided into 16 groups of four instead of the traditional straight knockout for the 2015 event held from 29 April to 3 May.

Dove Mountain in Arizona has staged the event for the past eight years, but it has often been affected by bad weather.

WGC World Match Play - last five winners
2014Jason Day
2013Matt Kuchar
2012Hunter Mahan
2011Luke Donald
2010Ian Poulter

Harding Park has also been chosen to stage the 2020 US PGA Championship and 2025 Presidents Cup.

Australia's Jason Day beat France's Victor Dubuisson in this year's WGC World Match Play final in February.

But with the Valero Texas Open moving to a date before the US Masters in 2015, the matchplay tournament needed to find a new place in the schedule.

Group matches will be played on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and the winner of each group advances to the last 16 on Saturday morning, with the quarter-finals on Saturday afternoon.

The semi-finals will be held on Sunday morning with the final and third-place play-off later the same day.

Top Stories