US Open 2015: Rory McIlroy and Martin Kaymer paired together

Martin Kaymer celebrates winning the 2014 US Open
Martin Kaymer has won two majors, the 2014 US Open and the 2010 PGA Championship
US Open
Venue: Chambers Bay, Washington Dates: 18-21 June
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra from 22:00 BST on Saturday and Sunday and live text updates of all four days from 19:00 on the BBC Sport website.

World number one Rory McIlroy has been paired with defending champion Martin Kaymer of Germany for the first two rounds of the US Open at Chambers Bay.

They will be joined by US amateur champion Gunn Yang of South Korea when the season's second major gets under way near Seattle on Thursday.

Northern Irishman McIlroy, 26, won the title in 2011 and is the reigning PGA Championship and Open champion.

Tiger Woods, 39, will play alongside Rickie Fowler and Louis Oosthuizen.

Woods is aiming for a 15th major title and fourth US Open success, less than two weeks after shooting the worst round of his professional career at the Memorial Tournament in Ohio.

Six-time runner-up Phil Mickelson, who needs to win the US Open to complete the career Grand Slam having already won three Masters titles, one Open and one US PGA Championship, has been paired with 2007 winner Angel Cabrera and Bubba Watson, twice Masters champion.

Jordan Spieth, who won the Masters in April, will tee off alongside 2013 US Open winner Justin Rose and twice runner-up Jason Day on a course hosting the tournament for the first time.

Selected tee times (Thursday, 18 June, BST):

1st tee (US unless stated):

15:33: Phil Mickelson; Bubba Watson; Angel Cabrera (Arg)

16:17: Henrik Stenson (Swe); Francesco Molinari (Ita); Brandt Snedeker

16:28: Jim Furyk; Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa); Colin Montgomerie (Sco)

21:33: Geoff Ogilvy (Aus); Ernie Els (SA); Retief Goosen (SA)

22:17: Jordan Spieth; Jason Day (Aus); Justin Rose (Eng)

22:28: Tiger Woods; Rickie Fowler; Louis Oosthuizen (SA)

22:39 Jimmy Walker; Zach Johnson; Ian Poulter (Eng)

10th tee

16:06: Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn); Graeme McDowell (NI); Matt Kuchar

16:17: Dustin Johnson; Adam Scott (Aus); Sergio Garcia (Spa)

16:28: Martin Kaymer (Ger); a-Yang Gunn (Kor); Rory McIlroy (NI)

21:22: Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn); Luke Donald (Eng); J.B. Holmes

22:17: Billy Horschel; Paul Casey (Eng); Lee Westwood (Eng)

Top Stories