Women's PGA Championship: Inbee Park wins third straight title

Inbee Park
Inbee Park now has six major titles
Women's PGA Championship final leaderboard
-19 Inbee Park (Kor); -14 Kim Sei-young (Kor); -12 L Thompson (US); -11 B Lincicome (US); -10 M Pressel (US), B Henderson (Can); -9 K Webb (Aus), S Pettersen (Nor) Selected others:-3 C Matthew (Sco); -2 C Hull (Eng); +3 L Davies (Eng)

South Korea's Inbee Park returned to world number one after clinching her third straight victory in the Women's PGA Championship in New York.

Park shot a final round of 68, five under par, to finish 19 under at the Westchester Country Club, beating compatriot Sei Young Kim by five shots.

It is a sixth major title for Park, 26, who overtakes New Zealand's Lydia Ko at the top of the rankings.

"I'm so thrilled and so honoured to be in this position," Park said.

"I do things that I can't even believe."

Americans Lexi Thompson and Brittany Lincicome, who won the year's first major at the ANA Inspiration, finished third and fourth respectively.

Park stretched her bogey-free streak to 56 holes with a faultless final round to tie the tournament record score, set by Cristie Kerr in 2010 and Yani Tseng in 2011.

She becomes only the second player to win three straight Women's PGA Championships, following Swedish great Annika Sorenstam.

Top Stories