Ryder Cup 2018: Who has made Europe and United States' teams?

Ryder Cup teams packed with talent - Westwood
2018 Ryder Cup
Venue: Le Golf National, Paris Dates: 28-30 September
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website; daily highlights on BBC Two and online

We now know which 24 players will make up the Europe and United States Ryder Cup teams at Le Golf National in Paris.

The biennial event takes place from 28-30 September, with the United States seeking to defend the trophy.

This is how the sides are shaping up, with players in bold having qualified to play.


Rory McIlroy
Four-time major champion Rory McIlroy qualified via the World points list

The 12-man team is made up of the first four players from the European points list, followed by the leading four players from the World points list and completed by four wildcard picks by Bjorn. The points system concluded on 2 September following the Made In Denmark tournament.

Bjorn named Paul Casey, Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter and Henrik Stenson as his four wildcards.

European points

Determined by how many Race to Dubai points a player has earned from events on the European Tour, the majors and World Golf Championships.

1Francesco MolinariItaly6,182,450.35
2Justin RoseEngland4,518,651.42
3Tyrrell HattonEngland4,326,297.77
4Tommy FleetwoodEngland3,668,310.57
5Thorbjorn OlesenDenmark 3,634,765.46
6Jon RahmSpain3,617,769.82
7Rory McIlroyNorthern Ireland3,482,791.06
8Alex NorenSweden3,444,442.21
9Russell KnoxScotland2,659,683.33
10Eddie PepperellEngland2,509,997.42

World points

Determined by overall Official World Golf Ranking points earned from events on the PGA Tour, European Tour, the majors and World Golf Championships

1Francesco MolinariItaly373.12
2Justin RoseEngland366.69
3Jon RahmSpain 327.18
4Rory McIlroyNorthern Ireland309.29
5Tommy FleetwoodEngland308.71
6Tyrrell HattonEngland252.68
7Alex NorenSweden252.62
8Thorbjorn OlesenDenmark179.14
9Ian PoulterEngland170.87
10Rafa Cabrera BelloSpain168.75

United States

Patrick Reed
Patrick Reed is in the US team after his Masters win

The points system concluded on 12 August following the US PGA Championship, with the top eight players on the points list securing a spot on the 12-man team.

The four remaining slots are captain's selections.

Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Bryson DeChambeau were announced as wildcards by Furyk on Tuesday, 4 September. Tony Finau secured the final spot on Monday, 10 September.

Qualifying rankings

1Brooks Koepka13,298.472
2Dustin Johnson9,549.287
3Justin Thomas8,929.122
4Patrick Reed7,821.880
5Bubba Watson5,584.137
6Jordan Spieth5,481.427
7Rickie Fowler5,006.112
8Webb Simpson4,534.745
9Bryson DeChambeau4,316.108
10Phil Mickelson4,207.953
11Tiger Woods4,196.794
12Xander Schauffele3,924.096
13Matt Kuchar3,843.696
14Kevin Kisner3,680.121


Join the conversation

These comments are now closed.


Top Stories


Elsewhere on the BBC