Hockey: England select 18-man Champions Trophy squad

England men's hockey at the Commonwealth Games
England won the bronze medal at this summer's Commonwealth Games

England have selected an 18-man squad for the Champions Trophy in India in December.

Tim Whiteman, Tom Carson and Paddy Smith return to the squad for the event in Bhubaneswar after missing out on this summer's Commonwealth Games.

Head coach Bobby Crutchley has also called up uncapped Chris Griffiths.

England are grouped with world champions Australia, Belgium and Pakistan in Pool A for the tournament, which begins on 6 December.

Hosts India are in Pool B with Argentina, Netherlands and reigning Olympic champions Germany.

England took the bronze medal at Glasgow 2014 after finishing fourth at the World Cup in June.

This year's Champions Trophy sees a new format introduced with matches played in four quarters over 60 minutes, instead of the previous two halves of 35 minutes.

"The tournament sets us against the best teams in the world and allows us to give new players an opportunity to play at the very top," said Crutchley.

"It will be interesting to see the new system of four quarters over 60 minutes in place for the first time at a major tournament."

England men's squad for the 2014 Champions Trophy: Alastair Brogdon (Wimbledon), Tom Carson (Reading), Nick Catlin (Holcombe), David Condon (East Grinstead), Adam Dixon (Beeston), Dan Fox (Holcombe), Mark Gleghorne (East Grinstead), Chris Griffiths (East Grinstead), Michael Hoare (Wimbledon), Ashley Jackson (East Grinstead), Iain Lewers (Holcombe), Harry Martin (Beeston), Barry Middleton (Holcombe) George Pinner (Holcombe), Phil Roper (Wimbledon), Patrick Smith (East Grinstead), Henry Weir (Wimbledon), Tim Whiteman (Beeston).

Top Stories