EuroHockey Championships: Dan Shingles returns to England squad

England hockey
Barry Middleton and Iain Lewers both feature in the England squad
EuroHockey Championships
Venue: Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London Dates: 21-30 August
Coverage: All England, Scotland and Ireland group matches live on the BBC Sport website, BBC Sport app and Red Button.

England have included Reading's Dan Shingles in their squad of 18 for the EuroHockey Championships at the Olympic Park in London from 21-30 August.

Shingles has recovered from injury and replaces Tim Whiteman, the only change from the squad that came third at the World League Semi-Finalexternal-link last month.

The women's squad shows two changes from the group that sealed Olympic qualification for Britain last month.

There is a first call-up for goalkeeper Sabbie Heesh and Sam Quek returns.

Both men's and women's events comprise eight teams divided into two groups of four, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals.

The men's squad contains 13 of the group who finished fourth at the 2013 EuroHockey Championships and four players who won the tournament in 2009 - Barry Middleton, Alastair Brogdon, Ashley Jackson and Adam Dixon.

England are in Pool A alongside the Netherlands, Spain and Russia.

England's women, who are in Pool B with Germany, Scotland and Italy, will be hoping to go one better than in the 2013 Championships, where they won silver, narrowly missing out to the Germans, who were defending champions.

The experienced Quek returns to the squad for the first time since captaining the team at the Champions Trophy in December and replaces Emily Maguire, who is representing Scotland.

Heesh, who has yet to appear for England but has played twice for Great Britain, replaces East Grinstead goalkeeper Kirsty Mackay, while Laura Unsworth needs one more appearance for 100 England caps.

Men's squad: David Ames (Beeston), James Bailey (Wimbledon), Alastair Brogdon (Wimbledon), Nick Caitlin (Holcombe), David Condon (East Grinstead), Adam Dixon (Beeston), Dan Fox (Holcombe), Mark Gleghorne (Beeston), Chris Griffiths (East Grinstead), Michael Hoare (Wimbledon), Ashley Jackson (Holcombe), Iain Lewers (Holcombe), Harry Martin (Beeston), Barry Middleton (Holcombe), George Pinner (Holcombe), Dan Shingles (Reading), Sam Ward (Holcombe), Henry Weir (Wimbledon)

Women's squad: Giselle Ansley (Surbiton), Sophie Bray (East Grinstead), Alex Danson (Reading), Susie Gilbert (Reading), Sabbie Heesh (Leicester), Maddie Hinch (Holcombe), Joie Leigh (Clifton), Hannah Macleod (St Albans), Shona McCallin (Slough), Lily Owsley (University of Birmingham), Sam Quek (Holcombe), Helen Richardson-Walsh (Reading), Kate Richardson-Walsh (Reading), Susannah Townsend (Canterbury), Georgie Twigg (Surbiton), Laura Unsworth (East Grinstead), Hollie Webb (Surbiton), Nicola White (Holcombe)

Top Stories