Wimbledon and Surbiton retain Hockey League titles

Wimbledon and Surbiton hockey players celebrate
Wimbledon and Surbiton were pushed all the way in their respective finals

Wimbledon retained the Men's Hockey League title, while Surbiton won the Women's Hockey League for the third consecutive year.

Both teams won their championship finals in a shoot-out; Wimbledon after a 1-1 draw with Reading, and Surbiton after a 0-0 draw against Canterbury.

Surbiton's Abi Walker produced three saves in the shoot-out before Hollie Webb's calm finish secured victory.

Phil Ball fired in the winner for Wimbledon after a thrilling match.

Wimbledon's James Bailey and his Reading counterpart Tommy Alexander both saved four times in the shoot-out, which the 2015 champions eventually won 4-3 to claim a second successive title.

Alastair Brogdon had earlier scored a 24th-minute equaliser after Tom Carson had put Reading 1-0 up.

Top Stories