Grand National: Aintree announces 2012 legends shortlist

Grand National
Grand National

Aintree racecourse has announced a 10-strong shortlist of racing legends from which five will be inducted into the Grand National Hall of Fame.

A panel of experts had to nominate their star performers, human or equine, from the famous race's history since the 1830s.

The five names selected by a public vote will be celebrated in a ceremony on Grand National day on 14 April.

The Hall of Fame is entering its third year and the 2012 winners will join Ginger McCain, Red Rum, Jenny Pitman and Bob Champion among others on the list.

Members of the public will be able to vote for their favourite via the official Aintree websiteexternal-link.

Grand National Hall of Fame shortlist

Fred Rimell - Trained four different horses to win the Grand National between 1956-76 (ESB, Nicolaus Silver, Gay Trip, Rag Trade)

Fred Winter - The only man to have both ridden and trained two National winners (rode Sundew, Kilmore; trained Jay Trump, Anglo)

Tommy Carberry - Rode L'Escargot to win in 1975 and trained Bobbyjo (ridden by son Paul) to victory in 1999

Tim Forster - One of only seven trainers to win three Grand Nationals: Well To Do, Last Suspect and Ben Nevis

Duke of Albuquerque - Rode seven times as an amateur between 1952 and 1976

Neville Crump - Trained three winners (Sheila's Cottage 1948, Teal 1952 and Merryman II 1960) plus five other placed horses

Michael Scudamore - 16 consecutive rides in the race from 1951-66, winning once (Oxo 1959) and also finishing second and third

Ernie Piggott - Lester Piggott's grandfather was three times winner as a jockey - on Jerry M (1912) and Poethlyn (1918, 1919)

Reynoldstown - Back-to-back winner 1935 and 1936 in only two attempts at the race

Carl Llewellyn - Two wins, on Party Politics (1992) and Earth Summit (1998), from 15 attempts including 12 consecutive rides