Richard Johnson: National Hunt's leading jockey reaches 200 winners

After finishing second last in the first race of the day at Warwick, Richard Johnson was delighted to make up for it with his second ride
After finishing second last in the first race of the day at Warwick, Johnson was delighted to make up for it

Richard Johnson reached the landmark of 200 winners in a season for the first time as he remains on course to succeed Sir Anthony McCoy as this season's leading National Hunt jockey.

The 38-year-old Herefordshire jockey won on Claire Dyson-trained 4-1 shot Cheat The Cheater in the Novices' Handicap Chase at Warwick.

Johnson finished runner-up in 15 of AP McCoy's 20 straight title triumphs.

But this keeps him over 80 wins clear of nearest challenger Aidan Coleman.

He had to earn every penny of his fee on the nine-year-old, who looked well held after being prominent in the early stages of the three-mile contest.

Glendermot looked certain to land the spoils when kicking clear of long-time leader Kapricorne. But he put the brakes on turning for home with two fences left to jump, which threw the race wide open and Johnson took full advantage.

The joint-favourite outfought his fellow market leader, who although getting a second wind, could not match Cheat The Cheater on the run-in, losing by three and a half lengths.

After losing six booked rides when Ludlow was called off on Wednesday, Johnson switched to Doncaster with no success, earning only two seconds.

He then failed with four rides at Huntingdon on Thursday, but his success at Warwick, coming on top of reaching his 3,000th career win at Ludlow last month, finally took him to another landmark in an already memorable season.

Johnson did not have long to wait for his 201st winner of the season, riding the Philip Hobbs-trained odds-on favourite Little Miss Poet in the last race of the day.

Richard Johnson's racing landmarks

First point-to-point winner: Space Mariner (Brampton Bryan) 9 April 1994.

First winner under National Hunt rules: Rusty Bridge (Hereford) 30 April 1994.

Champion conditional jockey: 1995-96.

Jump jockeys' championship: Runner-up 15 times.

100 winners in a season: 18 times.

Top Stories