Epsom Derby: Favourite Saxon Warrior leads field

Saxon Warrior
Saxon Warrior, here ridden by jockey Donacha O'Brien
Investec Derby
Venue: Epsom Date: Saturday 2 June Time: 16:30 BST
Coverage: Commentary on BBC Radio 5 live and online

Saxon Warrior tops the field for Saturday's Epsom Derby as he chases a triple crown.

The 2000 Guineas winner is odds-on favourite to win the second leg at Newmarket.

Trainer Aidan O'Brien, has also announced Delano Roosevelt, Kew Gardens, The Pentagon and Zabriskie will run.

Dermot Weld, who expects an "exciting Derby," will enter Hazapour, ridden by Frankie Dettori.

"Hazapour has an each-way chance, but I think it could be a really good renewal of the race," said Weld.

"I was satisfied with his work the other day, but Frankie was delighted."

Weld won his first Derby two years ago with Harzand in 2016, a close relative of Derrinstown Stud Trial winner Hazapour.

Roaring Lion and Sevenna Star are the two runners for John Gosden, Young Rascal runs for William Haggas, while Harry Dunlop's Knight To Behold are also in the field.

Declared runners with draw positions and jockeys

Racecard number; draw; horse; trainer, weight; jockey.

1 (6) Dee Ex Bee Mark Johnston 9st 0lb Silvestre De Sousa

2 (4) Delano Roosevelt (IRE) Aidan O'Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb Seamie Heffernan

3 (3) Hazapour (IRE) D. K. Weld, Ireland 9st 0lb Frankie Dettori

4 (12) Kew Gardens (IRE) Aidan O'Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb Donnacha O'Brien

5 (2) Knight To Behold (IRE) Harry Dunlop 9st 0lb Richard Kingscote

6 (10) Masar (IRE) Charlie Appleby 9st 0lb William Buick

7 (5) Roaring Lion (USA) John Gosden 9st 0lb Oisin Murphy

8 (1) Saxon Warrior (JPN) Aidan O'Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb Ryan Moore

9 (7) Sevenna Star (IRE) John Gosden 9st 0lb Robert Havlin

10 (11) The Pentagon (IRE) Aidan O'Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb Wayne Lordan

11 (9) Young Rascal (FR) William Haggas 9st 0lb James Doyle

12 (8) Zabriskie (IRE) Aidan O'Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb Padraig Beggy

Top Stories