Paul Adey named as new coach of Belfast Giants

Paul Adey is the new coach of the Belfast Giants
Paul Adey is the new coach of the Belfast Giants

Former Nottingham Panthers boss Paul Adey has been unveiled as the new coach of the Belfast Giants at a supporters event at the Odyssey Arena.

The Giants have been searching for a new coach since Doug Christiansen's decision to take over the reins at the Sheffield Steelers last month.

Canadian-born Adey, 49, was a player for the Steelers and Nottingham Panthers before coaching the Panthers.

He has latterly coached in Italy but recently returned to the UK.

Adey is excited to be joining the Giants, an organisation that he played against in his final year in the Superleague when he was with the Sheffield Steelers.

"Belfast is a first class organisation and they have a tradition of winning that I am excited to be a part of.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Paul Adey is the new Belfast Giants coach

"I am looking forward to the pressure of coaching in Belfast and I believe we will build a team to compete for every trophy up for grabs this season," said Adey.

The Canadian began his professional playing career with the Toledo Goaldiggers in the International Hockey League in 1983 and he moved to Europe in 1988 to play for French club Briancon.

After his brief French stint, Adey moved to the Nottingham Panthers in late 1988 where he was to spend his next 11 seasons.

He moved to the Sheffield Steelers in the 2000/01 season and helped them achieve a clean sweep of trophies in the British League.

Adey was appointed Nottingham head coach in 2002 and helped them land the Challenge Cup in 2004 which represented the club's first trophy in six years.

He left the Panthers a year later before being appointed head coach of Italian side Renon Ritten.

Other contenders for the job had included Giants coaches Dave Whistle, Rob Stewart and Steve Thornton plus last season's Braehead boss Paul Gardner.

The new coach inherits a roster that includes Elite League title winners from two seasons ago.

Adam Keefe, Darryl Lloyd, Mark Garside and Jeff Mason have already signed up as well as defenceman Davy Phillips, Colin Shields, Stephen Murphy and Robby Sandrock.

Kevin Phillips, brother of David, returns to the fold after three seasons with Braehead Clan.

Top Stories