Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.


  1. Leicester Riders 80-71 Sheffield Sharks
  2. Part of BBC Sport's live coverage of 32 matches in the BBL and WBBL this season
  3. Coverage produced by BBL for BBC Sport
  4. Coverage on BBC Sport website and app plus Connected TVs

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

Get involved

  1. Starting fives

  2. Welcome to BBC Sport's BBL coverage

    British Basketball returns to the BBC this evening with a top of the table clash.

    Leicester Riders currently sit top of the BBL, eight points ahead of the chasing pack and are favourites for the BBL Championship. 

    Their opponents Sheffield Sharks are well placed for a play-off place, currently sitting in fourth place. The Riders won a double header last weekend, beating Plymouth Raiders 88-71 on Saturday followed by a 85-71 victory over Surrey Scorchers on the Sunday.

    Last time out the Sharks lost 55-84 to Glasgow Rocks.

    Coverage is live from 19:30 BST across the BBC Sport website, app and selected Connected TVs. You can watch it right here and you can learn more about the BBC's coverage of the BBL and WBBL  here.

    Leicester Riders v Sheffield Sharks
  3. How to get involved with basketball

    You might think Basketball is that sport from across the pond - but the popularity here in the United Kingdom has been growing rapidly. 

    From Walking Basketball to Wheelchair Basketball,   there are a number of ways you can get involved with the sport , regardless of age or ability.

  4. BBL and WBBL on the BBC

    The BBC secured the rights to show 32 British Basketball League (BBL) and Women's British Basketball League (WBBL) games live on the BBC Sport website and app this season. 

    The finals for the knockout competitions and the play-offs are also on the Red Button. 

    The season started in early December, but fear not, we still have  several matches still to go! 

  5. What is the BBL?

    There are 12 British Basketball League teams from across the nation, all competing for four possible pieces of silverware: Championship, play-offs, Cup and Trophy.

    The  Championship   winners are those that come out on top of the  league table   at the end of the season.

    The top eight teams from the table then enter the end-of-season  play-offs,  culminating in a final which will be played at London's O2 Arena on 14 May.

    The  BBL Cup   is a knockout competition and was won by the Newcastle Eagles in January.