Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.


  1. GB's Elinor Barker & Emily Nelson win silver in the Women’s Madison
  2. GB'S Katie Archibald finishes fifth in the individual pursuit heats
  3. Men’s Omnium
  4. Men’s Sprint

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. Men's Sprint

    To qualify for the knockout rounds, riders must complete a 200m flying lap in the fastest time possible, with 28 now progressing instead of 24 at previous World Championships.

    The knockout races tend to feature slow, tactical starts, followed by a frenetic finish as two riders race against each other with the first to cross the line winning - the perceived advantage being that the rider coming from behind can draft, using less energy and thus have a better chance of being victorious.

  2. Men's omnium

    The omnium has had a major overhaul following the Rio 2016 Olympics, changing from a six-race event over two days to a four-race event held on a single day.

    The new format consists of four bunch races, with the scratch, elimination and points races retained and a new event - the tempo race - added. This also means the omnium is now a pure endurance event instead of a test of sprinting and endurance.

    Points are accumulated by riders in the first three events - the scratch, tempo and elimination races - with 40 points for the winner, 38 for second, 36 for third and so on.

    Each point then won during the final event - the points race - is added to the rider's points total. The rider with the highest score at the end of the points race is the winner.

    • Scratch race - a 10km (40 lap) race where the winner is the first rider over the line.
    • Tempo race - a 10km (40 lap) race with sprints conducted every lap after the first five laps. The winner of each sprint earns one point and any rider who gains a lap on the bunch earns four points.
    • Elimination race - the last rider to cross the finish line every second lap is eliminated until one rider is left.
    • Points race - 25km (100 laps) with the same rules as the individual points race.
  3. Women's madison

    Perhaps the most confusing track cycling event to follow, the madison is similar to the points race but with teams of two riders.

    Women compete in the madison for the first time at a World Championships and will race over 30km (120 laps).

    Intermediate sprints are held every 10 laps, with five points for the winner followed by three, two and one for the next three over the line - while these points are doubled for the final sprint at the end of the race. Teams can also earn 20 points by gaining a lap on the main bunch.

    One rider is always active, while the other continues to ride round, but is effectively 'resting' at the top of the track. When the active rider needs a breather, around every lap and a half or so, they 'hand-sling' their partner into the action. The best madison duos have an endurance rider capable of gaining a lap and a sprinter to win points.

    With all teams racing at the same time, trying to gain a lap on their rivals or win sprints, it is quite an impressive spectacle. The team with the most points at the end of the race is the winner and if there is a draw on points, places in the final sprint determine the winner.

  4. Brits on bikes

    Laura and Jason Kenny

    Olympic champions Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Steven Burke and Callum Skinner have been named in the squad of 20 riders, of whom 10 are making their World Championship debut.

    Great Britain will hope to match their table-topping five gold medals from last year's event in London but are without a number of star names.

    Six-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny and four-time Olympic gold medallist wife Laura, who are expecting their first child, will miss the championships, while Bradley Wiggins has retired and Mark Cavendish is focusing on road racing.

  5. Great Britain squad

    Women's endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ellie Dickinson, Neah Evans, Emily Kay, Manon Lloyd, Emily Nelson

    Men's endurance: Matt Bostock, Steven Burke, Kian Emadi, Chris Latham, Mark Stewart, Andy Tennant, Oliver Wood

    Sprint: Jack Carlin, Katy Marchant, Lewis Oliva, Ryan Owens, Callum Skinner, Joe Truman

  6. Looking to start cycling

    If you've been encouraged to get your lyrca on, Get Inspired has a guide on how to get started in the sport available here.

    Dame Sarah Storey
  7. When, where and history of the championships?

    The World Track Cycling Championships 2017 are taking place at the Hong Kong Velodrome from the 12-16 April. 

    The Championships take place every year, last year they took place in London. They were first held in 1893, in Chicago and were originally for amateurs with separate professional races. Amateurs and professionals continued to competed in separate events until 1993, after which they raced together in "open" races. 

    Championships are open to riders selected by their national cycling association. They compete in the colours of their country.