Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. Men's madison

    Perhaps the most confusing track cycling event to follow, the madison is similar to the points race but with teams of two riders racing 50km (200 laps).

    Intermediate sprints are held every 10 laps, with five points for the winner followed by three, two and one for the next three over the line - while these points are doubled for the final sprint at the end of the race. Teams can also earn 20 points by gaining a lap on the main bunch.

    One rider is always active, while the other continues to ride round, but is effectively 'resting' at the top of the track. When the active rider needs a breather, around every lap and a half or so, they 'hand-sling' their partner into the action. The best madison duos have an endurance rider capable of gaining a lap and a sprinter to win points.

    With all teams racing at the same time, trying to gain a lap on their rivals or win sprints, it is quite an impressive spectacle. The team with the most points at the end of the race is the winner and if there is a draw on points, places in the final sprint determine the winner.

  2. Women's Keirin

    The keirin is a tactical race that starts behind a motorised bike, called a derny, which gradually increases its pace to about  45km/h, until it pulls off to signal a sprint for the line.

    The format has been tweaked following controversy in Rio 2016.

    The race is now 1.5km (six laps) in total, instead of 2km, but the sprint distance has been increased from two and a half laps to three laps.

    Riders now also have to stay behind the leading edge of the front wheel of the derny - rather than the rear edge of the rear wheel - before the pacer pulls off.

  3. Men's 1km time trial

    Qualifying rounds see two riders on the track at the same time, with the top eight going through. In the finals, each rider competes alone and the quickest time wins

  4. Great Britain squad

    Women's endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ellie Dickinson, Neah Evans, Emily Kay, Manon Lloyd, Emily Nelson

    Men's endurance: Matt Bostock, Steven Burke, Kian Emadi, Chris Latham, Mark Stewart, Andy Tennant, Oliver Wood

    Sprint: Jack Carlin, Katy Marchant, Lewis Oliva, Ryan Owens, Callum Skinner, Joe Truman

  5. Looking to start cycling

    If you've been encouraged to get your lyrca on, Get Inspired has a guide on how to get started in the sport available here.

    Dame Sarah Storey
  6. When, where and history of the championships?

    The World Track Cycling Championships 2017 are taking place at the Hong Kong Velodrome from the 12-16 April. 

    The Championships take place every year, last year they took place in London. They were first held in 1893, in Chicago and were originally for amateurs with separate professional races. Amateurs and professionals continued to competed in separate events until 1993, after which they raced together in "open" races. 

    Championships are open to riders selected by their national cycling association. They compete in the colours of their country.