Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. Wheelchair rugby - the basics

    Wheelchair Rugby Quad Nations

    Wheelchair rugby teams are made up of four players on a court at any one time, although 12 players are allowed in a team overall. Teams are often mixed, made up of both men and women. Games are played over four quarters, each lasting eight minutes.

    A goal is scored when an athlete has possession of the ball and crosses the goal line of the opposing team with two of his or her wheels.

    Contact between the players' wheelchairs is permitted, although fouls can be given for dangerous contact such as hitting an opposing player’s chair behind its rear wheels to cause it to rotate. Body contact between players is penalized with a one-minute penalty.

    Players can only carry the ball for 10 seconds before dribbling or passing it, and teams in possession of the ball have 40 seconds to score a goal. There is a restricted area at each end of the court. Unlike rugby league and rugby union, the ball can be passed forwards.

    If there is a tie at the end of the four eight-minute periods of play, overtime is played in three-minute periods until there is a winner.

  2. What is the Wheelchair Rugby Quad Nations?

    Wheelchair rugby

    The second edition of the Wheelchair Rugby Quad Nations returns to the Morningside Arena in Leicester to win the Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha Trophy.

    A round-robin style tournament sees three nations compete in a mini-league to determine the line-up for the gold and bronze medal matches.

    Joining host nation Great Britain in this year's line-up will be USA and Australia.

    The Great Britain team: Chris Ryan (Captain), Ayaz Bhuta, Jonathan Coggan, Ryan Cowling, Nicholas Cummins, Aaron Phipps, Jim Roberts, Stuart Robinson, Jamie Stead, Gavin Walker

  3. How can I watch the Wheelchair Rugby Quad Nations?

    All times are GMT and subject to change

    The BBC will bring you coverage from all three days of the Wheelchair Rugby Quad Nations on the BBC Sport website and app, Connected TVs and on the BBC iPlayer, where you can also catch-up on the event shortly after each broadcast.

    Saturday 22 February

    Pool matches

    10:45-20:35 - BBC Sport website, Connected TV and BBC iPlayer

    Australia v USA - 10:45

    Australia v Great Britain - 14:45

    USA v Great Britain - 18:45

    Sunday 23 February

    10:45-16:35 - BBC Sport website, Connected TV and BBC iPlayer

    2nd v 3rd (winner plays in the final) - 10:45

    Final - 14:45

  4. How to get into wheelchair rugby

    Get Inspired


    Video content

    Video caption: From hospital bed to wheelchair rugby

    Originally called 'murderball', the game was hugely popular at both the 2014 Invictus Games and the London 2012 and Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

    The aim of Wheelchair Rugby is to score goals by carrying the ball across the opposing team’s goal line. In order to score a goal a player must cross the goal line with at least two of the four wheels on their wheelchair while in possession of the ball. Each match consists of four quarters of eight minutes with matches lasting 80-90 minutes.

    Teams can be made up of both men and women, and it is incredibly competitive. The Great British Wheelchair Rugby site has a club finder, and even gives you the contacts to start your own.