Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.


  1. Use the play icon to watch coverage
  2. GB's Sam Bird qualifies fastest
  3. Antonio Felix da Costa won first race in Saudi Arabia
  4. Second race of the season in Morocco
  5. Every race live on the BBC this season

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. What happened last time?

    Video content

    Video caption: Antonio Felix Da Costa wins first Formula E race of season

    BMW Andretti’s Antonio Felix da Costa topped the podium in the opening race of the season in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia.

    The Portuguese driver started on pole and held on to win despite a strong challenge from reigning Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne.

    Former Formula 1 stars Stoffel Vandoorne and Felipe Massa had disappointing Formula E debuts despite receiving fan boosts, with Vandoorne finishing 17th and ex-Ferrari driver Massa coming in 14th.

    Oliver Rowland was the only one of five British drivers to finish in the points as he came home in 7th place.

    Formula E Standings
  2. Verstappen to observe Formula E stewards as part of "public service" punishment

    Formula 1 driver Max Verstappen will be at Marrakesh - serving part of his punishment for shoving Esteban Ocon after the Brazilian Grand Prix in November.

    Verstappen handed Ocon shove punishment

    Max Verstappen

    Max Verstappen will serve part of his "public service" punishment "as an observer to the stewards" at Saturday's Formula E race in Marrakesh.

    Read more
  3. Expect more from Attack Mode in Morocco

    Formula E racing

    Drivers are expecting a lot more from the Attack Mode function - and more overtaking as a result - this weekend in Marrakesh after the placement of the timing loops was changed from the last race in Saudi Arabia.

    The sensor pad position at the Ad Diriyah circuit meant drivers would lose time moving over to take advantage of the boost and would receive less benefit from it.

    In Marrakesh, the activation zone is on the long left-hander at turn three, before a long straight when drivers will be able to take advantage of the extra power on offer.

    In addition, track experts say the timing loops are more visible on the Morocco track.

    Under the rules, drivers have to engage Attack Mode at least twice in every race. To do so, they push a button on the steering wheel and then drive over the loops to activate the system.

    This unlocks a high-power mode which gives drivers extra speed for a controlled period of time - the blue flashing lights on the car's halo lets fans know the mode has been made active.

  4. Familiar faces on the grid

    Felipe Massa left Formula 1 in 2017 after a 15-year stint in the sport, but is back behind the wheel as he begins his foray into Formula E with the Venturi team.

    Another driver making the switch from F1 to FE is Stoffel Vandoorne. The Belgian was let go by McLaren after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in November and is racing for the HWA Racelab team. Other big names on the grid include Nick Heidfeld, who spent a decade in Formula 1, and former Toro Rosso driver Sebastien Buemi.

    There is strong British representation with Sam Bird, Gary Paffett, Oliver Turvey, Alexander Sims and Oliver Rowland - who finished in the points in Saudi Arabia - all on the grid.

    Felipe Massa
  5. What is Formula E?

    The FIA Formula E Championship is the world’s first all-electric single seater series and is set to embark on its fifth season of competition.

    With a 13-race calendar spanning eight months - from December to July 2019 - the series will visit 12 of the world’s biggest cities including Rome, Paris and New York.

    Season five sees a new car introduced for the drivers to get to grips with. It has a longer battery life that will eliminate the need to change cars during the race, while BMW and Nissan join the rapidly growing list of manufacturers.

    The 45-minute long races will feature a number of ways to add extra excitement with the drivers having ‘Attack Mode’ and ‘Fan Boost’ at their disposal to help overtaking as well as bonus points for pole position and fastest lap.

    Formula E car
  6. Race schedule and BBC TV coverage

    Follow all the action from every race of the new ABB FIA Formula E Championship across the BBC.

    The championship consists of 11 teams and 22 drivers, with 12 races remaining including the season finale – a double-header in New York.

    Live coverage will be available to watch on the Red Button, Connected TV, BBC Sport website, mobile app and the BBC iPlayer.

    12 January - Marrakesh (Morocco)

    14:30-16:30, Marrakesh E-Prix, BBC Connected TV & online

    17:25-19:25, Marrakesh E-Prix (replay), BBC Red Button

    26 January - Santiago (Chile)

    16 February - Mexico City (Mexico)

    10 March - Hong Kong (China)

    23 March - Sanya (China)

    13 April - Rome (Italy)

    27 April - Paris (France)

    11 May - Monaco

    25 May - Berlin (Germany)

    22 June - Bern (Switzerland)

    13 July - New York (USA)

    14 July - New York (USA)