Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. Finalists

    X44 (Hamilton team) - Cristina Gutierrez & Sebastien Loeb

    RXR (Rosberg Team) - Molly Price & Johan Kristoffersson

    Andretti United - Catie Munnings & Timmy Hansen

  2. Standings after qualifying

    Extreme E qualifying standings

    To Semi-Final 1 (Top 2 Progress to Final)

    X44 - Cristina Gutierrez & Sebastien Loeb

    Acciona Sainz - Laia Sanz & Carlos Sainz Sr

    RXR - Molly Price & Johan Kristoffersson

    To Crazy Race (Winner Progresses to Final)

    Andretti United - Catie Munnings & Timmy Hansen

    Hispano Suiza Xite - Christine Giampaoli Zonca & Oliver Bennett

    JBXE - Jenson Button & Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky

    To Shootout (No Progression)

    SEGI TV CGR - Sara Price & Kyle Leduc

    ABT CUPRA - Claudia Hurtgen & Mattias Ekstrom

    Veloce Racing - Jamie Chadwick & Stephane Sarrazin

  3. All you need to know about Extreme E

    X44 in Extreme E testing

    What is it?

    Extreme E consists of five races, spanning four continents, and aims to highlight the impact of climate change and human activity on some of the world’s most remote locations, while promoting sustainability and the adoption of electric vehicles to help protect the planet.

    Nine different teams - each with two drivers, one male and one female - are competing in the inaugural series.

    Where do the races take place?

    The series starts with the Desert X-Prix in Saudi Arabia before moving to the Ocean X-Prix in Senegal. Artic and Amazon X-Prix's in Greenland and Brazil follow, before the series finishes with the Glacier X-Prix in Argentina.

    What is the format?

    At each race there will be two days of racing - Saturday & Sunday. On the Saturday each team races twice in qualifying, while Sunday sees the semi-finals, the Crazy Race and the final.

    Each race is two laps – one driven by the female and one by the male. All results are based on race finishing position, not race time.

    More details on how it works, and the point-scoring system, can be found here.

  4. Who are the teams competing in Extreme E?

    Extreme E cars at a test event

    ABT Cupra XE - Claudia Hurgten & Mattias Ekstrom

    A German-based team. Hurgten won the 2005 VLN Endurance Championship, making her the first female to do so since 1998. Ekstrom was the FIA World Rallycross Championship world champion in 2016.

    Acciona | Sainz XE team - Laia Sanz & Carlos Sainz

    Spanish team who in 2017 became the first team to complete the Dakar Rally with a 100% electric vehicle. Sanz has been crowned Trial World Champion 13 times, Enduro world champion on five occasions and has finished the Dakar Rally ten times, between 2011 and 2020. Sainz won the FIA World Rally Championship in 1990 and 1992 and the Dakar Rally three times: in 2010, 2018 and 2020.

    Andretti United Extreme E - Catie Munnings & Timmy Hansen

    An American-based team which combines two powerhouses of motorsport – Andretti Autosport and United Autosports. Munnings is an up-and-coming British rally driver who won the European Rally Championship Ladies’ Trophy in 2016, aged just 18. Hansen won the 2019 Rallycross drivers title.

    Hispano Suiza Xite Energy Team - Christine Giampaoli Zonca & Oliver Bennett

    Another team based in Spain, and their first racing victory came over 100 years ago. Giampaoli Zonca is the main driver of Avatel Racing Team, and finished third in the T2 category in the Andalucía Road to Dakar Rally in 2020. Bennett competes in the World Rallycross Championships and in races across America.

    JBXE - Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky & Jenson Button

    The first of three UK-based teams, and it is owned by 2009 Formula 1 world championship Jenson Button. The Brit has since raced in endurance and off-road races. Ahlin-Kottulinsky switched to competing in the Scandinavian Touring Car Championship in 2018, where she made history as the first, and only woman ever to win races in that series.

    Rosberg X Racing - Molly Taylor & Johan Kristoffersson

    A German team owned by 2016 Formula 1 champion Nico Rosberg. In 2013, Taylor's success in the European Rally Championship elevated her to World Rally Rankings Number 1 International Female Rally Driver. Kristoffersson is the reigning three-time World Rallycross champion.

    Segi TV Chip Ganassi Racing - Sara Price & Kyle Leduc

    American-based Chip Ganassi has been a fixture in the auto racing industry for over 30 years and is considered one of the most successful as well as innovative owners. Price is a 19-time national dirt bike champion, while Leduc has six Pro 4 Championship wins and over 100 race victories in the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series.

    Veloce Racing - Jamie Chadwick & Stephane Sarrazin

    The second UK-based teams sees 2019 W Series world champion Chadwick lining up alongside Sarrazin who has competed in Le Mans, Formula E and the World Rally Championship, among others.

    X44 - Cristina Gutierrez & Sebastien Loeb

    The final UK-based team, who are owned by seven-time Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton. Gutierrez has finished the Dakar Rally, which is widely regarded as the world's toughest rally, five times, while Loeb is statistically the most successful rally driver of all time, with a record nine FIA World Rally Championship crowns and 79 individual WRC event wins to his name.

    Jamie Chadwick
  5. How can I watch Extreme E?

    All times are BST and subject to change

    BBC iPlayer

    You will be able to watch live coverage of all five races in the inaugural Extreme E season - along with qualifying, the semi-finals and the crazy race - on BBC iPlayer and via the BBC Sport website the app.

    All of the streams will also be available to catch-up on for 30 days.

    Full coverage details

    Sunday, 4 April

    07:00-08:30 - Semi-final & Crazy Race - BBC Red Button, BBC iPlayer & the BBC Sport website & app

    11:00-13:00 - Race - BBC Red Button, BBC iPlayer & the BBC Sport website & app

    Future races

    29-30 May - Ocean X-Prix in Senegal

    28-29 August - Artic X-Prix in Greenland

    23-24 October - Amazon X-Prix in Brazil

    11-12 December - Glacier X-Prix in Argentina