MotoGP: Marc Marquez claims pole for Indianapolis GP

Indianapolis qualfying

Championship leader Marc Marquez claimed pole position for Sunday's Indianapolis Grand Prix with a dominant display in final qualifying.

The 20-year-old finished more than half a second ahead of defending champion and fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo, with Dani Pedrosa third.

Britain's Cal Crutchlow will start the race - the 10th of 19 in the season - from fourth on the grid.

Crutchlow's compatriot and Yamaha Tech 3 team-mate Bradley Smith was seventh.

Marquez recorded a time of one minute and 37.958 seconds on the sixth of eight laps, 0.513 seconds faster than Lorenzo.

Marquez is aiming to become the first man to win the title in his debut season since Kenny Roberts in 1978.external-link

"Taking pole is important, but it's tomorrow that really counts," said Marquez.

"Besides that, the conditions change a lot, tyre durability suffers and it will be tough as the race progresses.

"We knew the qualifying session was all about the single flying lap. The tyres had a lot of grip then and I took advantage of it."

Lorenzo and Pedrosa suffered collarbone injuries before the German GP in July, where Marquez moved to the top of the world championship.

Crutchlow, currently fifth in the championship standings, trailed the 2012 Indianapolis winner Pedrosa by 0.017 seconds.

American Ben Spies, returning to MotoGP after taking a break to recover from an injury to his right shoulder, crashed out and dislocated his left shoulder.

Britain's Scott Redding, the Moto2 championship leader, will take pole in Sunday's race after finishing quickest in qualifying in one minute and 43.026 seconds.

Qualifying Results:

1. Marc Marquez (Spa) Repsol Honda - 1:37.958

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha Factory Racing - 1:38.741

3. Dani Pedrosa (Spa) Repsol Honda - 1:38.485

4. Cal Crutchlow (GB) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 - 1:38.502

5. Alvaro Bautista (Spa) Honda Gresini - 1:38.872

6. Nicky Hayden (USA) Ducati Team - 1:39.142

7. Bradley Smith (GB) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 - 1:39.255

8. Stefan Bradl (Ger) LCR Honda MotoGP - 1:39.313