MotoGP: Marc Marquez wins Indianapolis Grand Prix

Marc Marquez extended his lead at the top of the MotoGP World Championship to 21 points with an impressive win at the Indianapolis Grand Prix.

Marquez started on pole but fell behind Jorge Lorenzo after the reigning champion produced a fine start.

But Marquez, 20, overtook his fellow Spaniard with 15 laps remaining and coasted to victory, with Dani Pedrosa coming second and Lorenzo in third.

Britain's Cal Crutchlow put in a battling display but finished fifth.

Marquez, who has finished on the podium in every race he has completed this year, becomes the first man to win all three rounds in the United States.

A third straight win strengthened the Repsol Honda rider's grip in the standings with eight races remaining.

Pedrosa overtook Lorenzo with two laps remaining to inflict more damage on Lorenzo's hopes of retaining his title, although both men continue to be hampered by injury.

Valentino Rossi just squeezed past Crutchlow before the finish line after the pair were involved in a thrilling tussle that also involved Alvaro Bautista.

Pedrosa told BBC Sport: "In the last laps I gave 100% and I got second which is amazing for me and good for the Championship.

"Marc is in a strong place but I hope I can recover a little more in the next race.

"It was hard for me to stay with the group because the bike was sliding both wheels."

Lorenzo claimed that he was forced to drop his pace due to a worn rear tyre and was happy to finish.

He said: "I lost second place in the last two laps because the tyres from one lap to the next made a big drop.

"I almost crashed so I had to slow my pace and finish without crashing. We did a good race. Third position, no crash and lots of points."

Indianapolis Grand Prix results

1. Marc Marquez (Spa) Repsol Honda 44'52.463

2. Dani Pedrosa (Spa) Repsol Honda 44'55.958

3. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 44'58.167

4. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 45'12.358

5. Cal Crutchlow (GB) Tech 3 Yamaha 45'12.418

6. Alvaro Bautista (Spa) Gresini Honda 45'12.524

7. Stefan Bradl (Ger) LCR Honda 45'17.305

8. Bradley Smith (GB) Tech 3 Yamaha 45'33.153

9. Nicky Hayden (US) Ducati 45'33.164

10. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 45'33.286

Top Stories