MotoGP: Marc Marquez breaks record to take pole at Misano

Marquez breaks San Marino lap record

Championship leader Marc Marquez set a new lap record at Misano as he claimed pole position for Sunday's San Marino Grand Prix.

The 20-year-old recorded a time of one minute 32.915 seconds to break Casey Stoner's two-year record at the course.

Jorge Lorenzo will begin second ahead of Valentino Rossi in third, with British rider Cal Crutchlow fifth.

Marquez's team-mate Dani Pedrosa starts fourth while Aleix Espargaro secured sixth on his CRT machine.

Marquez is aiming to become the first rookie to win the world championship since American Kenny Roberts in 1978 and has taken 140 from a possible 150 points in the last six races.

He has been quickest throughout the weekend and his record-breaking lap meant no other rider finished within half a second, and only three clocked a time within a second.

"I'm very happy with this pole position, as we had a really good hot lap," said Marquez

"It's a shame about the small crash that we had in practice this morning - which was completely my fault - but the important thing is that we know where I made the mistake.

"In qualifying I felt very comfortable every time on fast laps and was able to put in some quick times. We'll see if we can fight with Jorge, as he has a very good pace."

Crutchlow, who will switch from Yamaha's satellite team Tech 3 to Ducati for next season, said: "It has not been an easy weekend at all so I am really pleased to be starting on the second row of the grid.

"We still need to find something else for the race because the gap to the front is pretty big.

"I am definitely trying my hardest but I have lost some confidence on the bike since the middle of the season and now I have to improve to go faster.

"I'll try and get a good start and go with the leading group."

Meanwhile, former world champion Stoner - who retired from MotoGP last year - has reportedly decided to leave car racing at the end of this season.

Misano qualifying times:

1. Marc Marquez (Spn) Repsol Honda 1'32.915

2.. Jorge Lorenzo (Spn) Yamaha 1'33.428

3. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 1'33.573

4. Dani Pedrosa (Spn) Honda 1'33.726

5. Cal Crutchlow (GB) Yamaha 1'34.014

6. Aleix Espargaro (Spn) Aspar ART 1'34.028

7. Stefan Bradl (Ger) LCR Honda 1'34.098

8. Alvaro Bautista (Spn) Gresini Honda 1'34.230

9. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 1'34.338

10. Nicky Hayden (USA) Ducati 1'34.362