Derek McGarrity tipped for Circuit of Ireland Rally win

Derek McGarrity
Derek McGarrity has won four Circuit of Ireland Rallys

Derek McGarrity will start as favourite to secure his fifth Circuit of Ireland success when the annual Easter showpiece begins in Armagh on Saturday.

The Glengormley driver will be behind the wheel of his Subaru WRC as he attempts to equal Paddy Hopkirk's record of victories in the event.

Kenny McKinstry and Darren Gass should be among the leading contenders but Tarmac Championship leader Tim McNulty will sit out the rally.

The event will feature 16 stages.

Over 100 competitors will take part in the event which takes in five different counties.

Ten special stages will be held on Saturday and the final six on Sunday.

McNulty won the Galway Rally and he will take in the Killarney Rally after missing the Circuit of Ireland.

Top Stories