Manx Grand Prix: Farquhar wins 500cc classic

Ryan Farquhar
Farquhar has now won eight times at the Manx Grand Prix

Ryan Farquhar has won his second Manx Grand Prix race of the week, with victory in the 500cc classic.

The Dungannon man won the race by almost two minutes on his 1972 Paton to claim his eighth MGP title.

"We developed a bad misfire on the final lap and I thought I may have to retire, but I nursed it home," he said.

Castletown's Chris Palmer finished in second place with Mark Herbertson third.

Meanwhile, Mark Parrett won the Formula Classic race on a BSA Rocket 3.

The TT rider from Midhurst was the only finisher of the four who started the race.

Alec Whitwell and Chris McGahan retired at Glen Helen and The Mountain Box respectively on their second laps, while Dave Madsen-Mygdal was black-flagged at Sulby Bridge with oil reported on his back wheel.

Parrett had an eventful race with no back brake from Ballacraine and was also black-flagged in error, for which he later received a time credit.

Top Stories