Matt Neal wins British Touring Car title at Silverstone

British Touring Car champion Matt Neal
Neal clinched the win in the final race

Matt Neal was crowned the British Touring Car champion after an exciting final round at Silverstone.

Neal had a six-point advantage over Gordon Shedden going into the final race of three.

An eighth-place finish was enough to hand the title to Neal, who came home two spots above Shedden.

"It's going to take some sinking in, I never thought I'd win it once in my life and now it's three," he told the British Touring Car websiteexternal-link.

"If it had gone Gordon's way I'd have been disappointed for me but over the moon for him."

Jason Plato's attempts to defend his title was thwarted when he failed to finish race one with a puncture before finishing seventh in race two.

Neal claimed the title with 257 points ahead of Shedden with 249 and Plato third with 236.

Top Stories