Speedway: Peterborough Panthers announce 2012 Elite League line-up

Kenneth Bjerre
Kenneth Bjerre returns to Peterborough after a year with King's Lynn

Peterborough Panthers have revealed a much changed line-up, with Kenneth Bjerre, Lasse Bjerre and Olly Allen all returning to Alwalton from King's Lynn.

Linus Sundstrom and Michael Jepsen Jensen are retained from 2011.

And Jesper B Monberg, Rene Bach, Richard Lawson and Kyle Newman complete the Elite League team.

Meanwhile, former Swindon Robins and Denmark boss Jan Staechmann has been recruited to share a joint-manager role with current chief Trevor Swales.

"We all know what happened last season," Swales told the club websiteexternal-link. "We just weren't good enough away from home and that's why we missed out on the play-offs.

"This year we've built a team which we think and hope is going to challenge for some away wins.

"It's also going to be terrific working with someone of Jan's experience in the sport and hopefully we can all go forward and have a really good season."

Kenneth Bjerre will captain the side in 2012 as well as ride at number one, while his younger brother Lasse will share a doubling-up position with Bach.

Both Bjerre siblings return to Peterborough after one-year loans at King's Lynn. And Allen, who captained the Stars last season, joins the club where he started his career on loan from Coventry.

Dane Jepsen Jensen will take one of the six or seven berths, with Lawson and Newman sharing the other reserve position.

"To keep Michael at reserve was of paramount importance," added Swales. "We're all of the opinion that he is going to be a trump card there for us.

"We've gone for an out-and-out number one instead of a number one and number two."

Top Stories