Juho Hanninen wins Circuit of Ireland Rally

Andreas Mikkelsen
Andreas Mikkelsen is the current iRC world champion

Finland's Juho Hanninen has won the Circuit of Ireland with a 44.2 seconds victory over Intercontinental Rally Challenge champion Andreas Mikkelsen.

Hanninen led Mikkelsen by less than a second after Friday's stages but he pulled clear on Saturday in stages around Armagh and in Lisburn.

Jan Kopecky was third while Craig Breen was the best Irish finisher in fifth.

Darren Gass won the Irish National section of the rally to extend his lead in the Tarmac Championship.

Eugene Donnelly was one minute 28 seconds behind Gass in second, with former Circuit winner Derek McGarrity third.

Garry Jennings won the production class with fellow NI driver Marty McCormack securing victory in the IRC 2WD Cup.