Darren Gass and Keith Cronin win Ulster Rally events

Darren Gass' victory extended his Irish Championship lead

Darren Gass and Keith Cronin earned impressive victories in the Irish and British Championship events at the Ulster Rally.

Gass benefited from Derek McGarrity's morning retirement to finish a minute and 12 seconds ahead of Garry Jennings in the Irish Championship event.

Armagh man Gass' win extends his Irish Championship lead over Jennings.

Corkman Cronin had a minute and 38 seconds to spare from Elfyn Evans in the British Championship event.

Darragh O'Riordan took third in the Irish Championship event as he finished two minutes and 10 seconds behind Gass.

Osian Pryce took third in the Rally Northern Ireland British Championship round as he finished two minutes and 43 seconds behind Cronin.

McGarrity was fastest in Saturday's opening stage as he trimmed Gass' lead to 11 seconds but the veteran driver's retirement left Gass with a comfortable advantage over Fermanagh man Jennings.

Gass has had a tremendous season highlighted by his victory in the Galway International Rally in January.

However, Gass' lead in the Irish Championship was trimmed by Fermanagh man Jennings' win at the Donegal Rally earlier this summer.