Ryan Farquhar collects Irish Motorcyclist of the Year award

Ryan Farquhar
Ryan Farquhar won the Supertwins TT last week

Ryan Farquhar has been named as the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year at the annual Adelaide Motorcycle Awards night in Belfast.

Farquhar, who announced his retirement from the sport in September, came out on top in the public vote.

The Dungannon man had a successful season on the Irish roads and won Supertwins races at the North West 200, Isle of Man TT and Ulster Grand Prix.

Ex-Grand Prix star Jeremy McWilliams was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Michael Dunlop was named top International Road Racer, with Antrim rider John Simpson receiving an award in recognition of his success in the Senior Manx Grand Prix race as a newcomer to the Mountain Circuit.

Jonathan Rea was chosen as Short Circuit Rider of the Year and Jack Kennedy picked up a prize for finishing a close second to Glen Richards in the British Supersport series.

Sam Wilson was Young Rider of the Year and the HM Plant KTM motocross outfit were named Team of the Year.

Keith Farmer received an Outstanding Achievement Award after winning the British Superstock 1000cc title in 2012, while Graeme Irwin was Off-Road Rider of the Year.

Marshall Neill's victory at the Mondello Masters was selected as the Race of the Year while broadcaster Jackie Fullerton received the Greenlight Television Special Recognition Award in honour of his 40 years in broadcasting.

Farquhar saw off the challenge of fellow nominees Rea, Eugene Laverty, Farmer, Dunlop, Kennedy and Irwin to collect the top accolade.