British teenager Arron Newby becomes youngest ever Rally IOM winner

Arron Newby

A British teenager has become the youngest ever winner of Rally Isle of Man - in the event's 50th year.

Arron Newby, 18, from Carnforth and co-driver Rob Fagg won the three-day Manx International Rally section of the event by two minutes, 20.1 seconds.

The TEG Sport Subaru pilot said it was the biggest victory of his career.

Last year's winners Steve Quine and co-driver Richard Skinner finished second, less than one second ahead of Steve Colley and Andrew Cowley.

Arron Newby and Rob Fagg
Arron Newby and Rob Fagg won by more than two minutes.

The two crews were split by just four tenths of a second after two-and-three-quarter hours of rallying.

Newby added: "The team has done brilliantly.

"You look at the names on that trophy for this rally and it's amazing."

More than 100 crews entered the near 200-mile stage race held across the Isle of Man.

The event is part of the Irish Historic Tarmac Rally Championship and a crucial double-points scorer for the Manx Rally Championship.

Ryan Barrett and Isle of Man co-driver Paul McCann (MkII Ford Escort) swept to a comfortable victory on the historic Rallee Classicagh section of the race.

Barrett and McCann finished more than three minutes ahead of David Stokes and Guy Weaver in second.

The Ulsterman said: "It's unbelievable to win. The Manx is one of the most famous rallies in the world."

Meanwhile, Pat Bettridge and Paul Gelling (Subaru) won the Manx Trophy Rally by a huge winning margin of 7 minutes 46.6 seconds ahead of Wayne Ellis and Sarah Harbour.

Stephen Bettridge and Michael Keig completed the podium in third.

Top Stories