Le Mans 24-Hour race: Audi one-two as second team triumphs

Audi team crosses the finish line to take the chequered flag in its 379th and last lap to win the 82nd Le Mans 24 Hour Race

Audi secured their 12th victory in 14 years with a one-two finish at the 82nd Le Mans 24-Hour race.

Switzerland's Marcel Fassler, France's Benoit Treluyer and German Andre Lotterer won in the number two car.

They finished after 379 laps, three clear of Audi's number one team of Dane Tom Kristensen, Spaniard Marc Gene and Brazilian Lucas Di Gras.

Toyota took third place with Britain's Anthony Davidson, Frenchman Nicolas Lapierre and Swiss Sebastien Buemi.

Kristensen had been chasing a record-extending 10th Le Mans victory after his triumph last year.

The winning trio overcame turbocharger problems for their third success in the world's most famous endurance race, watched by 263,000 spectators - the highest attendance for 20 years.

Former Formula One driver Mark Webber was forced to retire in the 22nd hour with technical issues when his Porsche team were in second place overall.

Le Mans leading positions:

1 Benoit Treluyer (Fra) Audi R18 E-Tron Quattro, 2 Tom Kristensen (Den) Audi R18 E-Tron Quattro, 3 Anthony Davidson (GB) Toyota TS 040 Hybrid, 4 Nicolas Prost (Fra) Rebellion Toyota R-One, 5 Oliver Turvey (GB) Zytek Z11SN Nissan, 6 Ludovic Badey (Fra) Ligier JS P2 Nissan.