Monte Carlo Rally: Kris Meeke 10th as Sebastien Ogier wins

Kris Meeke in action in Thursday's shakedown stage in the Monte Carlo Rally
Kris Meeke retained his Citroen drive for this season after four WRC podium finishes in 2014

Dungannon driver Kris Meeke won two of Sunday's three stages to finish 10th overall in the Monte Carlo Rally.

Meeke had gone into the event hoping for another podium place after coming third last year, but slipped out of contention when he crashed on Friday.

The 35-year-old fell to 21st position but recovered impressively.

Sebastien Ogier wrapped up his third Monte Carlo win as the Volkswagen team claimed all three places on the podium of the opening rally of the season.

Northern Ireland driver Meeke was quickest in his Citroen on the first of the day's stages, a 10-kilometre run up the Col de Braus and the steep descent into St Laurent, taking it by 1.1 seconds from team-mate Sebastien Loeb.

Loeb took the second stage (31.66k) while Meeke was victorious again in the final Power Stage.

Ogier, who held a 43 second lead coming into the final day, played it safe with his tyre choices but still managed to extend his overall advantage to 58 seconds ahead of Jari-Matti Latvala in second and Andreas Mikkelsen in third.

Final positions: 1 Sebastien Ogier (Fra) Volkswagen 3 hrs, 36 mins 40.200 secs; 2 Jari-Matti Latvala (Fin) Volkswagen 3:37:38.200, 3 Andreas Mikkelsen (Nor) Volkswagen 3:38:52.500, 4 Mads Ostberg (Nor) Citroen 3:39:23.800, 5 Thierry Neuville (Bel) Hyundai 3:39:52.300, 6 Daniel Sordo (Spa) Hyundai 3:39:53.100, 7 Elfyn Evans (Gbr) Ford 3:42:03.900, 8 Sebastien Loeb (Fra) Citroen 3:45:14.900, 9 Martin Prokop (Cze) Ford 3:46:35.000, 10 Kris Meeke (Gbr) Citroen 3:47:35.800