Circuit of Ireland 2015: Craig Breen leads entry for rally

Craig Breen
Craig Breen will start as number one seed for the Circuit of Ireland

Waterford driver Craig Breen is the number one seed for the Circuit of Ireland Rally, which has attracted a record number of entries.

The event forms round three of the European Rally Championship series.

Breen lies second in the standings and is seeded one by virtue of his FIA ranking, which Breen earned by winning the WRC Academy and SWRC titles.

The Peugeot 208 driver starts the event on the back of his victory at Rally Liepaja in Latvia in February.

ERC series leader Kajetan Kajetanowicz, a four-time National champion from Poland, is seeded second, with Frenchman Robert Consani third.

The Cote d'Azur driver will debut his new stunning Citroen DS3 R% along with co-driver Maxime Vilmot.

Leading the charge for Northern Ireland is County Tyrone's Alastair Fisher, seeded five, while Dubliner Robert Barrable, who claimed third place at last year's Circuit, is number six on the list.

Twenty nations will be represented including Germany, Portugal, Italy, Belgium, Ireland, Norway, United Kingdom and the Czech Republic.

Last year's winner of the National circuit, Donegal man Declan Boyle, takes pole position on the National seeded entry list.

Five times winner of the Circuit of Ireland, Derek McGarrity, will compete in his new Subaru S14.

Three-times Northern Ireland champion and veteran star Kenny McKinstry will also take part.

A ceremonial start will take place at Belfast City Hall on Thursday evening, with spectator stages taking place in Newtownards on Friday and Lisburn on Saturday.

The rally will finish in Belfast on Saturday evening, with the winner being crowned at Belfast's Titanic Quarter.