Catalunya Grand Prix: Jorge Lorenzo beats Valentino Rossi

Jorge Lorenzo
Jorge Lorenzo led for a record 102 consecutive laps, breaking Casey Stoner's previous benchmark of 88 laps

Jorge Lorenzo won his fourth straight MotoGP to move within a point of Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi in the overall standings.

Rossi pushed him hard in Catalunya, but Lorenzo held off the Italian and fellow Spaniard Dani Pedrosa in third.

Two-time reigning champion Marc Marquez of Spain crashed for the third time in seven races.

In the Moto3 category, Britain's Danny Kent won his fourth race out of seven to go 51 points clear in the standings.

Sitting in sixth position going into the last lap of an edgy race, Kent eventually beat Italy's pole position-starting Enea Bastianini into second and Spain's Efren Vazquez into third.

He is hoping to become the first British rider to win a championship in any class since Barry Sheene in 1977.

Sam Lowes continues to be among the frontrunners in the Moto2 standings - the Brit sitting third after finishing fourth in Barcelona.

Catalunya Grand Prix results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 42 minutes 53.208 seconds

2. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 42:54.093

3. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 43:12.663

4. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 43:18.133

5. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 43:20.990

6. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 43:22.767

7. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 43:29.632

8. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Yamaha Forward 43:35.311

9. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 43:42.558

10. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Aprilia 43:45.777

11. Jack Miller (Australia) Honda 43:46.874

12. Eugene Laverty (Ireland) Honda 43:48.973

13. Loris Baz (France) Yamaha Forward 43:49.040

14. Mike Di Meglio (France) Ducati 44:02.245

15. Alex de Angelis (San Marino) ART 44:18.471

World Championship standings:

1. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 138 points

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 137

3. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 94

4. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 83

5. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 69

6. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 68

7. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 47

8. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 46

9. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 45

10. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 39

11. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 39

12. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 31

13. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 27

14. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 26

15. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 16

Top Stories