Surrey Storm beat Hertfordshire Mavericks to Superleague title

By Caroline ChapmanBBC Sport
Surrey Storm
Surrey Storm have ended their seven-year wait for silverware

Surrey Storm beat Hertfordshire Mavericks 56-39 to win their first Superleague title.

Storm have been in the final four times in five years and lost out by one point to Manchester Thunder in 2014.

But they finally lifted the trophy with a solid display against the two-time champions at London's Copperbox Arena.

Surrey led from the first quarter and eventually pulled 17 points ahead of the Mavericks to win, with England's Pamela Cookey dominant in attack.

Superleague champions
2015 - Surrey Storm2014 - Manchester Thunder
2013 - Team Bath2012 - Northern Thunder (now Manchester Thunder)
2011 - Hertfordshire Mavericks2010 - Team Bath
2009 - Team Bath2008 - Hertfordshire Mavericks
2007 - Team Bath2006 - Team Bath

The Mavericks had claimed the final play-off place by finishing fourth in the standings at the end of the regular season.

And last weekend they stunned reigning champions Manchester Thunder by winning their semi-final to book a place in the domestic showpiece.

Surrey had ended the season second, behind unbeaten Thunder, and overcame Yorkshire Jets to reach the final.

After a nervy start in front of a 6,000 capacity crowd, Surrey took the first quarter by three points and went in at half-time 26-20 ahead.

The Mavericks reduced the deficit to four, thanks in part to some accurate shooting from Kadeen Corbin and Louisa Watson.

But Surrey's quality told and player-coach Tamsin Greenway finally ended her run of three final defeats in charge.

In the third-place play-off earlier on Saturday, Thunder won 55-49 against Yorkshire Jets.