Cavan Ulster Championship squad includes 10 Under-21s

Gearoid McKiernan
Gearoid McKiernan with the Ulster U21 trophy after Cavan's win over Tyrone

Cavan have included 10 of the U21 squad that reached this year's All-Ireland final in their Ulster SFC panel.

The U21 contingent includes talented Gearoid McKiernan, Niall Murray and Alan O'Mara.

Cavan shocked Tyrone in the Ulster U21 decider but after beating Wexford, they were defeated by Galway in the All-Ireland decider.

Those missing from the Ulster Championship squad include injured duo Nicholas Walsh and Gerarld Pierson.

Walsh has a back injury while Pierson is ruled out by a knee problem.

Martin Reilly will also miss this summer's action because of a cruciate ligament injury while Paul Brady is not in the squad as he is currently concentrating on handball.

Goalkeeper James Reilly, Micheal Lyng and Keith Fannin all return to the panel having missing last year's Championship.

The U21s joining McKiernan, O'Mara and Murray in the Cavan senior squad are Michael Brady, Niall McDermott, Fergal Flanagan, Oisin Moynagh, Damien Barkey, Barry Reilly and Niall McKiernan.

In all, the squad includes 13 players involved in Tommy Carr's championship panel 12 months ago.

Seanie Johnston will captain the Breffni squad.

Cavan will meet the winners of Sunday's preliminary round clash between Donegal and Antrim in the Ulster quarter-finals.

Cavan squad: James Reilly, Alan O'Mara, Damien Reilly, Dane O'Dowd, Dermot Sheridan, Mark McKeever, Martin Cahill, Stephen Jordan, Thomas Corr, John McCutcheon, Patrick Carroll, James McEnroe, Brendan Fitzpatrick, Cian Mackey, Keith Fannin, Michael Brennan, Ray Cullivan, Ronan Flanagan, Gareth Smith, Seanie Johnston, Eugene Keating, David Givney, Micheal Lyng, Niall Murray, Gearoid McKiernan, Michael Brady, Niall McDermott, Fergal Flanagan, Oisin Moynagh, Damien Barkey, Barry Reilly, Niall McKiernan.

Top Stories