Bryansford clinch title in Kilmacud Sevens competition

Coleraine's Mark McTaggart and Kilmacud's Brian Kavanagh
Coleraine's Mark McTaggart battles with Kilmacud's Brian Kavanagh in the All-Ireland Sevens tournament

Bryansford were crowned Kilmacud Sevens champions for the first time since 1994 as they beat Castlewellan 1-15 to 1-11 in an all-Down decider.

Ciaran Brannigan hit Bryansford's goal after only 15 seconds but Kevin Duffin's strike helped Castlewellan lead 1-7 to 1-6 at half-time.

Points from captain Jim Magorrian, Chris Clark and Brannigan helped Bryansford move four ahead.

Colm Og Crilly's goal left one between the teams but Bryansford held on.

It was Bryansford's fifth victory in the competition.

Afterwards Jim Magorrian accepted the cup from Leinster GAA Chairman Martin Skelly with Ciaran Brannigan named the Player of the Tournament.

Bryansford overcame another Down side Longstone by 3-10 to 1-14 in the semi-final while Castlewellan overcame a six-point deficit to finish 2-11 to 1-8 winners over Coleraine in the other last-four encounter.

Earlier, reigning champions St Gall's of Antrim crashed out at the quarter-final stage after a 3-10 to 0-6 defeat against Castlewellan.

Six of the eight quarter-finalists were from Ulster with Dublin duo Kilmacud Crokes and Ballymun Kickhams flying the flag for the rest of the country.

Host club Kilmacud Crokes were beaten by 4-8 to 0-13 by Eoghan Ruadh, Coleraine in their last-eight encounter.

It took penalties to separate Longstone and Ballymun Kickhams after two late Ambrose Rogers goals ensured a 2-8 to 0-14 full-time score-line.

Meanwhile, Bryansford beat Glenullin, Derry by 3-13 to 1-10.

Other Ulster teams in action were Tyrone's Edendork, Antrim's Erin's Own, Cargin and St John's, O'Donovan Rossa of Derry, Derrygonnelly Harps and Newtownbutler of Fermanagh, Donegal's Naomh Conaill and Down side An Riocht.

At the Eirgrid Ratoath Intermediate Sevens Meath side Nobber beat Tir na nOg, Randalstown by 1-12 to 1-6 after extra-time at Sean Eiffe Park.