Seamus Quigley stars as Roslea retain Fermanagh SFC

Roslea celebrate
Roslea's squad celebrate their Fermanagh SFC title at Brewster Park

Seamus Quigley hit 1-8 as holders Roslea edged out Teemore 1-10 to 1-7 in the Fermanagh SFC final at Enniskillen.

Gerry Quinlan hit an early Teemore goal but Quigley's penalty left Roslea 1-5 to 1-4 ahead at half-time and they took control in the third quarter.

Michael Murphy hit 1-7 as Glenswilly beat St Michael's 1-8 to 0-9 in the Donegal SFC final at Ballybofey.

Cavan Gaels hammered Castlerahan 4-11 to 0-7 in the Cavan Football decider at Breffni Park.

Conor Quigley and James Sherry were the only Roslea players to join Seamus Quigley on the Roslea scoring sheet at Brewster Park.

Quinlan hit a cracking early goal for Teemore but Quigley's penalty helped Roslea take a 1-5 to 1-4 half-time lead.

With Quigley doing most of the damage, Roslea hit four unanswered points after half-time and while Teemore notched three of the last four scores as Barry Owens was switched to full-forward, the holders held on.

At Ballybofey, three early Murphy points helped Glenswilly lead 0-4 to 0-1 but two Colm McFadden scores contributed to St Michael's drawing level by half-time.

St Michael's moved into a 0-7 to 0-6 lead but Murphy then lashed in the game's only goal to restore Glenswilly's lead.

Christy Toye tried manfully to rally St Michael's as he hit two points which levelled the contest but Murphy's 50th-minute free restored Glenswilly's advantage and they held on for a deserved win.

Both teams had been aiming for their first Donegal senior football title.

Fermanagh SFC Final

Roslea 1-10 1-7 Teemore

Donegal SFC Final

St Michael's 0-9 1-8 Glenswilly

Cavan SFC Final

Cavan Gaels 4-11 0-7 Castlerahan

Top Stories