Four players added to Ireland International Rules squad

Anthony Tohill
Ireland manager Anthony Tohill will take 23 players to Australia

Ireland's International Rules manager Anthony Tohill has added four more names to his panel for the forthcoming two-match series against Australia.

Carlow's Brendan Murphy, Kildare's Eamonn Callaghan, and Zach Tuohy and Colm Begley of Laois are named so 22 of the 23 available places are now filled.

One more player will be included before the panel go to Australia next week.

The squad includes seven Ulster players, including Armagh duo Stephen McDonnell and Ciaran McKeever.

Donegal pair Neil McGee and Michael Murphy are included.

The other Ulster players named are Down's Kevin McKernan, Joe McMahon of Tyrone and Monaghan's Darren Hughes.

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton takes over from McDonnell as captain for the two games on 28 October and 4 November.

Those missing the series included injured Tyrone star Sean Cavanagh and Martin Clarke who declared himself unavailable for this year's matches.

Kerryman Tadhg Kennelly will make his final competitive appearances during the series after recently announcing his retirement.

Kennelly won an All-Ireland medal with Kerry in 2009 before deciding to return to Aussie Rules action with the Sydney Swans.

Kieran McGeeney, Eoin Listen, Kevin O'Brien and Sean Og de Paor will serve as Tohill's selectors.

Tohill said that panel membes have displayed "exemplary commitment" at recent training sessions.

"The strong interest shown amongst players demonstrates the enthusiasm for the game and the importance players place on representing their country," added the Ireland manager.

Michael Murphy and Kevin McKernan are among squad members involved in club action this weekend but the Ulster Council have indicated that provincial championship matches will be put on hold in order to accommodate players travelling to Australia.

The first match is in Melbourne on 28 October with the second Test taking place at the Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast on 4 November.

Ireland panel: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Ciaran McKeever (Armagh), Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Finian Hanley (Galway), Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Tadgh Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans), Steven McDonnell (Armagh), Kevin McKernan (Down), Joe McMahon (Tyrone), Neil McGee (Donegal), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Darran O'Sullivan (Kerry), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Aidan Walsh (Cork), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Eamonn Cllaghan (Kildare), Zach Tuohy (Laois), Colm Begley (Laois).

Top Stories