Mickey Harte hands Tyrone debut to Johnny Lafferty

Urney's Johnny Lafferty is the only debutant in Tyrone's team for Sunday's Power NI Dr McKenna Cup opener against Queen's University at Omagh.

Lafferty will play in a side that sees the return of Mickey Murphy and Mattie Donnelly, neither of whom has featured over the past two years.

Peter Harte, who has made a name for himself as an attacker, has been named at centre half-back.

Aidan Cassidy returns at midfield, where he will partner Colm Cavanagh.

Cassidy missed most of last season because of an ankle injury.

Ryan McMenamin, Kevin Hughes, Joe McMahon, Martin Swift, Pascal McConnell, Cathal McCarron, Davy Harte and Stephen O'Neill are expected to sit out the action until February.

Antrim boss Liam Bradley has named four debutants for their opener against Peter Canavan's Fermanagh at Brewster Park.

Patrick Gallagher (Glenavy) and Ryan Daly (St Brigids) feature in the full-back line with Conal Kelly (Creggan) at midfield and Colm Duffin (Randalstown) in the full-forward line.

Bradley has named Aodhan Gallagher as team captain for this year and the St Gall's man will partner Kelly at centrefield.

Michael Magill will start his first game since the 2010 National League.

Canavan has yet to name his team for his opening match as manager although several of the players who made themselves unavailable for John O'Neill's squad last year and expected to be involved after being recalled by the new manager.

Down boss James McCartan includes former Armagh minor Conor Gough in his team to face the Orchard County in Sunday's clash at Newry.

Poyntzpass native Gough transferred his allegiance to Down in the autumn.

McCartan also gives debuts to David McKibbon, Keith Quinn and Marcus Miskelly but experienced men Brendan McVeigh, Dan McCartan, Don Gordon, Liam Doyle, Kalum King, Danny Hughes and Eoin McCartan are also included.

Armagh boss Paddy O'Rourke will use the competition to have a look at new players and the debutants in his team include goalkeeper Niall Geoghan, David Lavery, Mark Shields, Eugene McDonnell, Stefan Campbell and Eugene McVerry.

Paddy Bradley will not be involved in Derry's game against Cavan at Celtic Park.

Bradley is close to regaining full fitness after his cruciate ligament injury last Spring but will not be involved against the Breffni County.

Manager John Brennan gives a debut to Bellaghy's Eugene Scullion, who will play at full-back while centrefield will see Lavey's Kevin O'Neill and Glen's Johnny McCamley making their first Derry appearances.

Goalkeeper Stephen Harbinson will also make his Oak Leaf debut.

Chrissy McKaigue, who has returned from playing Australian Rules, is included in the substitutes.

Cavan boss Val Andrews includes several of last year's Ulster U21-winning side in his starting line-up.

Ulster Champions Donegal are without a number of college-tied players including skipper Michael Murphy, Mark McHugh and Leo McCloone.

Newcomers to the panel are Glenswilly player Gary McFadden and former Cork panelist Conor McManus who is now playing club football for Kilcar.

Jim McGuinness has yet to name his team for the game as have UUJ although Antrim duo Andy McClean and CJ McGourty are expected to play for the Students.

UUJ are missing several intercounty players - including Tyrone quartet Ronan McNabb, Ronan McNamee, Peter Hughes and Mattie Donnelly - while Jamie Clarke is among their unavailable Crossmaglen contingent.

Monaghan boss Eamon McEneaney's debutants include Carl O'Connell and Tommy O'Neill while their opponents St Mary's include county players Eoin McArdle, Gavin Teague and Ronan Sexton.

Tyrone: J Devine, PJ Quinn, J McMahon, D McCaul, S O'Neill, P Harte, S McNally, A Cassidy, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, M Penrose, M Murphy, P McNeice, J Lafferty, T McGuigan.

Antrim: W McSorley, P Gallagher, R Johnston, R Daly, T Scullion, J Crozier, J Loughrey, C Kelly, A Gallagher, C Murray, K Marron, M Armstrong, C Duffin, M Magill, P Cunningham. Subs: C Kerr, K Brady, M Dougan, S Finch, M Johnston, M McAleese, P McBride, M McCann, T McCann, S McDonagh, B Neeson, D O'Hagan

Down: B McVeigh, D McCartan, D Gordon, N Branigan, D Turley, P Turley, L Doyle, K King, C Gough, D Hughes, A Carr, D McKibbon, K Quinn, E McCartan, M Miskelly.

Armagh: N Geoghan, A Conlon, C Vernon, D McKenna, D Lavery, A Mallon, M Shields, E McDonnell, A Duffy, A Forker, B Mallon, G Swift, S Campbell, BJ Padden, E McVerry.

Monaghan: M Keogh, C O'Connell, D Hughes, D Malone, C Galligan, V Corey, T O'Neill, C Daly, P Finlay, M McKenna, S Gollogly, J Turley, C Hanratty, S Smyth, B O'Brien. Subs: R Beggan, M Downey, E Duffy, D Morgan, J Bellew, R McNally, D Millar, P O'Hanlon, P Doonely, E Lennon, F Kelly.

St Mary's: N Morgan, M Slane, D McBride, E McArdle, C O'Hara, G Teague, M Murray, N Donnelly, R O'Callaghan, D McCusker, R Sexton, N Sludden, C Conaghan, O MacIomhair, B Doyle. Subs: R McAnenely, J Gilmore, C Murphy, C Campbell, C McMahon, M Stevenson, B Herron, T Canavan, E Bradley, S Mullan, S McKenna.

Derry: S Harbinson, B McCallion, E Scullion, M Craig, M Drumm, D McBride, SL McGoldrick, J McCamley, K O'Neill, G O'Kane, C O'Boyle, B McGoldrick, E Lynn, E McGuckin, E Brown.

Cavan: F Reilly, O Minagh, S McCormack, F Slowey, D O'Dowd, P Reilly, D O'Reilly, G McKiernan, D Givney, M McKeever, R Cullivan, S Jordan, N McDermott, E Keating, R Galligan.

Sunday's McKenna Cup fixtures, 1400 GMT

Section A

Tyrone v Queen's (Omagh)

Fermanagh v Antrim, (Enniskillen)

Section B

Monaghan v St Mary's College (Clones)

Down v Armagh (Newry)

Section C

Derry v Cavan (Celtic Park)

Donegal v UUJ (Letterkenny)