Ulster trio on Fitzgibbon list

Current Antrim player Neil McManus
Neil McManus is among the three Ulster nominees

Just three Ulstermen have made the 75-strong list of nominees for the Fitzgibbon Cup team of the century.

Henry Downey, Derry's All-Ireland winning football captain, is named with ex-Antrim stalwart Des Cormican and current Saffron Neil McManus.

Downey hurled for QUB from 1986-90 while Cormican played on the only QUB team to win the Fitzgibbon Cup in 1953.

Ciaran Barr who captained Antrim to the 1989 All-Ireland hurling final is a surprise omission.

The team of the centenary is due to be announced in late January.

Top Stories