Derry minors too good for Donegal in Ulster MFC clash

Two goals from 16-year-old Terence O'Brien helped Derry beat Donegal 2-9 to 1-7 in the Ulster MFC quarter-final.

Derry had too much class and finishing power for a Donegal side coming off the back of a preliminary round win over defending champions Cavan.

O'Brien found the net after just 90 seconds and the Oak Leafers enjoyed a 1-6 to 0-4 lead at the interval.

O'Brien finished clinically in the 39th minute and a Ryan McHugh penalty was scant consolation for Donegal.

Just ninety seconds had elapsed when O'Brien dispossessed Donegal goalkeeper Daniel Mullarkey to slot home a goal from close range.

McHugh and Conor Harkin hit Donegal points, but with Peter Cassidy putting in a mighty shift at midfield, it was the Oak Leafers who held the upper hand.

Cassidy fired over a couple of gems, and Gerard Bradley also scored twice, but Donegal showed their battling qualities for Stephen McBrearty to turn over possession and send McHugh in for a superb score.

O'Brien stroked over a '45 in stoppage time to send Derry in with a 1-6 to 0-4 interval lead.

Bradley added another couple to his tally and sent O'Brien through for his second goal, finished clinically to the top corner of the net in the 39th minute.

Donegal pulled back a goal from a penalty through skipper McHugh after substitute Sean Fitzgerald was fouled.

They trimmed the deficit further through Hugh McFadden and John McGarvey, but their challenge fell short.

Derry: C Bradley, D Brown, M Sweeney, G Doyle, G McKinless, C McAtamney, C Carville, P Cassidy (0-2), R McDonnell (0-1), J Kearney, C McFaul, T O'Brien (2-1, 0-1 '45) G Bradley (0-4, 1f), R Bell (0-1), R Moore.

Subs: C Gallagher for McKinless, R Dougan for Moore, A McNicholl for Kearney

Donegal: D Mullarkey, G Kelly, C Parke, J Rose, S McBrearty, M Gallagher, D Mulgrew, B McNelis, R McNamee, C Harkin (0-2, 1f), J McGarvey (0-2), A McGinley, R McHugh (1-2, 1-00pen, 0-1f), W Gillespie, E McHugh.

Subs: H McFadden (0-1) for McGinley, S Fitzgerald for Rose, C McGettigan for McGarvey, C Gallagher for Gillespie

Top Stories