Tyrone boss Harte rings changes for 2013 squad

John Devine

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has heralded a new era for the county, confirming a major overhaul of his squad and the departure of 11 established players.

Fourteen new faces are in the 2013 squad while John Devine, Damien McCaul, Brian McGuigan, Owen Mulligan, Davy Harte and Sean O'Neill are left out.

Stephen McNally, Niall McKenna, Aidan Cassidy, Peter Hughes and Ciaran Gervin are also omitted.

Only five members of the 2003 All-Ireland title-winning squad remain.

The are Stephen O'Neill, Conor Gormley, Sean Cavanagh, Pascal McConnell and Dermot Carlin.

Mulligan's future remains unclear, with the attacker involved in Sunday's Ulster Club IFC final with his club Cookstown.

Cathal McCarron, who had reportedly also been let go by the treble All-Ireland winning manager, remains a member of the 39-man squad.

Niall Morgan of Edendork would appear to be a ready-made replacement for goalkeeper Devine, bringing a Stephen Cluxton-style asset with his ability to kick points from long range free kicks.

The leading scorer in Tyrone's Division One, Conor McAliskey of Clonoe, is another recruit, as is Coalisland midfielder Plunkett Kane. Harte may take another look at both players in Saturday's league final.

There were initial reports that Errigal Ciaran duo Tommy Canavan and Stephen Tierney had been included in Harte's provisional squad along with Clonoe's Stephen McNulty and Ardboe's Shea McGuigan.

However, the Tyrone county board later released a squad list which did not include the names of Canavan, Tierney, McNulty and McGuigan, who is a brother of Brian McGuigan.

The statement added that the panel is a "provisional squad list and is in no way the final list of names".

Omagh pair Conan Grugan and Barry Tierney have also received call-ups, as have Danny McBride of Strabane, Kevin Gallagher (Newtownstewart), Dean McNally (Kildress), Sean Warnock (Greencastle) and Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher).

Tyrone squad: Pascal McConnell (Newtonstewart), Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciaran), Conor Clarke (Omagh), Cathal McCarron (Dromore), Mickey Murphy (Galbally), Mark Donnelly (Carrickmore), Colm Cavanagh (Moy), Conor Gormley (Carrickmore), PJ Quinn (Moortown), Mattie Donnelly (Trillick), Joe McMahon (Omagh), Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran), Johnny Lafferty (Urney), Paddy McNeice (Coalisland), Ronan McNabb (Dromore), Dermot Carlin (Killyclogher), Martin Penrose (Carrickmore), Stephen O'Neill (Clann na nGael), Darren McCurry (Edendork), Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran), Ronan O'Neill (Omagh), Justin McMahon (Omagh), Kyle Coney (Ardboe), Sean Cavanagh (Moy), Conan Grugan (Omagh), Barry Tierney (Omagh), Plunkett Kane (Coalisland), Ciaran McGinley (Errigal Ciaran), Danny McBride (Strabane), Kevin Gallagher (Newtownstewart), Conor McAliskey (Clonoe), Dean McNally (Kildress), Niall Morgan (Edendork), Sean Warnock (Greencastle), Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher).

Top Stories