All-Ireland Qualifiers: Derry to face Cavan in Ulster derby

Brian McIver
Brian McIver

Derry will play Ulster rivals Cavan in the third round of the All-Ireland Football qualifiers, with Armagh facing Galway and Kildare playing Tyrone.

Derry and Cavan will clash at Celtic Park on Saturday, with the winners to play the losers of the Connacht final.

Armagh must travel to Galway, with the winners progressing to face Cork.

Tyrone have also been handed an away tie against Kieran McGeeney's side, with a game against losing Leinster finalists Meath awaiting the victors.

Wexford take on Laois in the third round, the winners playing the losing Ulster finalists, either Donegal or Monaghan, in round four.

The all-Ulster tie between Derry and Cavan and Armagh's clash with Galway have both been handed 17:00 BST throw-in times, with Kildare v Tyrone at 19:00.

Two of the round four matches have been fixed for Croke Park on Saturday 27 July, but the venues and start times for the other two fixtures have yet to be announced.

Armagh booked their place in the next round with a thumping win over Leitrim while Cavan saw off Fermanagh in an ill-tempered tie at Breffni Park.

A week earlier, Tyrone edged past Roscommon and Derry defeated Down in an Ulster derby.

All-Ireland Football Qualifiers round three - Saturday 20 July

Galway v Armagh, Pearse Stadium, 17:00 BST

Wexford v Laois, Wexford Park, 19:00 BST

Kildare v Tyrone, Newbridge, 19:00 BST

Derry v Cavan, Celtic Park, 17:00 BST

All-Ireland Football Qualifiers round four draw - Saturday 27 July - neutral venues

Galway or Armagh v Cork, Croke Park, 17:00 BST

Wexford or Laois v Donegal or Monaghan, time and venue tbc.

Kildare or Tyrone v Meath, Croke Park, 19:00 BST

Derry or Cavan v Mayo or London, time and venue tbc.

Top Stories