Omagh CBS win dramatic MacRory Cup replay

Omagh CBS beat St Colman's in MacRory Cup quarter-final replay after extra-time
Omagh CBS beat St Colman's in MacRory Cup quarter-final replay after extra-time

Omagh CBS defeated St Colman's Newry in a dramatic MacRory Cup quarter-final replay after extra-time on Tuesday.

Goalkeeper Patrick O'Neill saved a penalty in the last minute of extra-time as Omagh won by 1-14 to 1-13.

Oisin O'Neill had scored a penalty in the drawn game but this time his shot was saved by the Omagh goalkeeper to put his side through to a semi-final against St Patrick's Academy Dungannon.

Holders St Patrick's Maghera will face St Pat's Cavan in the other semi-final.

Wind-assisted Omagh were quickly out of the blocks and led by 1-5 to 0-1 after just 13 minutes, Ronan McHugh the goal-scorer.

Just as in the drawn encounter on Saturday, St Colman's worked their way back into the tie and only trailed by 1-6 to 0-5 at half-time.

St Colman's took the lead for the first time through Conor Gordon's point after 45 minutes.

Jack Haughey edged them two in front from a free and with the wind at their backs, they looked the more likely winners.

However Omagh CBS came with a strong finish that yielded points from McHugh and McElduff to leave it 1-11 each and force extra time.

St Colman's held a slender lead at half-time in extra-time.

Two minutes into the second period of extra-time, a Gavin Slane free levelled matters and a superb point from out on the right wing from Ronan McHugh proved to be the winning score.

After O'Neill's penalty save, Oisin O'Neill took the resulting '45' but it dropped short and referee Pat McEneaney blew the full-time whistle.

Omagh CBS will play St Patrick's Dungannon in an all-Tyrone semi-final at Emyvale on Saturday, while holders Maghera face St Patrick's Cavan on Friday evening in the Athletic Grounds.

Omagh CBS: P O'Neill, C McQuaid, C McCann, D Mullan, R Samir, T McNamee, S McGale (0-1), J Darcy, B McDonnell, A McSorley (0-3), J Colton (0-1), R McHugh (1-2), A Fullerton, C McElduff (0-3), G Slane (0-4, 4f)

Subs: M Coreless for Fullerton, R Bradley for McDonnell, O McCann for McGale, E Murray for McNamee, P Cassidy for Samir

St Colman's: J Heaney, C Brown, O Donnelly, C Gordon (1-0), P O'Hagan, R McQuaid, L McGreevy, F Aiken, O O'Neill, P Og McCrickard (0-1), J Haughey (0-6, 2f), J Morgan (0-1), C Gilmore (0-4, 3f), J Kearns, C Magee

Subs: A McKiernan for Kearns, P Keating (0-1) for Donnelly, G McElroy for Brown, J Kearns for Magee

Referee: P McEneaney (Monaghan)